Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This hummus was pretty good. Very simple to make and tasted great with the pita bread that I made. I thought the hard part was getting the garbanzo beans smooth and creamy, and I had to use a lot more liquid than the 1T the recipe called for. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I omitted the liquid from the beans entirely as well as the jalapeno. I added a little more cumin and 1/4 cup good olive oil. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great recipe! And it still tasted like hummus despite the absence of tahini paste. Next time I make it, I'll probably only use two cloves of garlic. Three was a bit too garlicky. I also took out the jalapenos since I'm not a big fan of spicy. I also used about three tablespoons of the reserved bean liquid in addition to the one in the recipe because I like my hummus a bit creamier. I think next time I'll add in some black olives to see how it tastes. Overall, really simple and easy recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Very easy, definitely, and nice. I left out the jalapenos and accidently added too much lemon juice. Perhaps that's why I had to add more cumin, but either way I think it needs a tad more. Other than that, like I said, very easy. Also good and quick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was my first time making my own hummus and it turned out great! I will definitely be making this from now on instead of buying the expensive stuff at the store. I must add that I did use a little olive oil based on other recipes as well as adding some roasted red pepper. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
A good base recipe with room for other ingredients... Personally I'd only use one clove of garlic, as the first time I made it, two cloves were still too strong (for me). Also because I thought it could use some tahini, but did not have any on hand, I added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter which worked surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naples Biker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I added olive oil anyway, for more flavor. Works well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
:( i was very sad, i looked forward to this. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Hubby really liked this. Didn't have jalapenos, but added some olives instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I used picked jalapenos from jar and added some large green olives and few drizzles of olive oil... YUM! My mom is visiting and loves store bought humus. She tasted this and ate almost the whole bowl. Will make again for bunco in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States