Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
WOW! I have never made hummus before but am on a new eating program. This is one of the few hummus recipes that doesn't call for tahini (whatever that is). I like things spicy and happened to have one lonely jalapeno, so I made this! I used my Ninja and the hummus came out perfectly! This had such a good, spicy flavor! Not too spicy, but just enough. The cumin adds a nice flavor without being too overpowering. I added cracked pepper and a pinch of salt. I will be using this again! Who knew hummus was so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was really good. I used my magic bullet grinder and it was practically instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband uses this as a base recipe for hummus weekly. I prefer it as-written, but he perfers it to pack a bigger punch and usually adds extra garlic and/or jalapeno. I love that this hummus does not call for tahini which, while necessary for an authentic hummus, is not something I have in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
The recipe as stated was a tad too tangy and really heavy on the lemon in my opinion so I added a bit more garlic, some cayenne pepper and garlic infused olive oil. I would say this is a great base, but as is, wasn't my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made hummus for the first time last night! I'm pretty particular when it comes to hummus, and I don't like most grocery store ones. I have been getting mine from a Kosher deli a few towns away...until now! I halved the garlic (1.5 cloves), but I think 1 clove may be good for next time (I am a garlic lover also, but it was a little overpowering, since it is raw garlic). Didn't add the peppers, but added a few pinches of paprika and some olive oil. After blending in the food processor, I felt like the hummus was still chunky and it had a "beans" aftertaste. I was kind of disappointed and decided to just put it in the fridge overnight. But when I tried it today, like some other reviewer said, the flavors blend together when in the fridge, and there was no "bean" taste. I'm glad I didn't call it a wash after my first taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a poor man's version of what hummus should taste like. The fats (oil and tahini) have the purpose of binding the garbanzo puree and giving excellent mouthfeel. And the jalapeno is out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Facehole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used roasted red pepper instead of jalapenos... still spicy but a little more kid friendly. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCBDeborah
Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking. Totally lacked flavor. I threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Love this hummus. It has a mexican flair to it and is delicious on tortilla chips. Even my kids liked this and request it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
simple, healthy and pretty good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States