Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
this is a wonderful easy recipe. Thank you. Especially at my place I couldn't find tahini!! I ate them with grilled vegetables and grilled marinated chicken. they taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I had heard of hummus before so decided to try this recipe. Pretty good, but Im definitely no expert. I used my canned jalepenos and added a little peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I didn’t realize it was so easy and cheap to make. Just put a couple of ingredients in the food processer and it is done within a minute. Guess this means I’ve been permanently liberated from buying grocery store hummus. I did change a few things. First, I didn’t use canned juice.I added 2Tbs of tahini oil. I also added a little more water to smooth it out and extra salt to taste. If you are sensitive to warm foods, I would suggest not adding the jalapeño. Other than that, it was pretty good. And did I mention that garbanzo beans are a super food that is also a great source of fiber, protein, and healthy fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I started with the ingredients that I had at home (didn't have jalapeno so substituted jarred hot banana peppers) and the result was very good. Then I added in some sundried tomatoes and it became excellent! I also added juice from the jarred peppers to make it easier to blend. Yum! Am going to eat it with jicama to cut down on the calories from crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I've never made hummus before, but I've eaten it plenty of times. This was ok. I think it really needs tahini and/or oil. Also, I'm a garlic lover and 3 cloves was just too much for 1 can of beans. Maybe my cloves were really big? Not sure, but it's a rare things for something to be too garlicky for me. I didn't have a jalapeño so based on another reviewer I used cayenne and that worked well. I ended up adding some olive oil which helped but it still wasn't great. I will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Very tasty! Great with veggies or pitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great easy base-hummus recipe. To mellow the garlic, microwave the cloves for 10 seconds before mincing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
since I find nothing 'unhealthy' about extra virgin olive oil I add some to basically the same recipe. the oil gives it more depth and brings out flavors better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
needed a little oil added to make it smoother. I did not put in the hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is pretty good, but next time I make it I will use only one clove of garlic, as right now I feel like I could light my breath on fire quite easily, lol! I added some sun-dried tomatoes to mine as per someone's suggestion and it was delicious! You really don't miss the oil or tahini, and the cumin gives it just the right flavor. This is definitely good enough for company. In fact, I'm taking it to my friend's house on Friday night with some dippers and a nice bottle of wine. Mmmm...! So simple and elegant and healthy! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States