Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very good, but I would go a little easier on the garlic next time - 2 small/medium cloves would be plenty. I used a little bit of olive oil to make it smoother, and I would recommend this. I used pickled jalapenos instead of fresh, which made it quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was addicting. I followed exactly. I used a combination of extra virgin olive oil and reserved liquid to smooth the hummus out. I also added some salt and pepper. Served with homemade pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was super easy and so delicious! I will NEVER buy store bought again! This is definitely a great base recipe. I added oil and the entire bean liquid because I like my hummus not so thick. I also added paprika. Yum! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This hummus is excellent! A great basic recipe to play around with. I added more garlic and some chili oil...so good! And so easy really, just a matter of adding liquid until it reaches your preferred consistency. I eyeballed it, and left the jalapenos out because I didn't have any on hand. I can't wait to try making lemon and dill or roasted red pepper! The low fat aspect and controlled sodium makes it silly for me to buy this in the store. A little olive oil could really "richen" it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I think this is an amazing base recipe. I loved the bite the jalapeno gave the hummus, and I appreciated how garlic-y it tasted. If you're not a garlic LOVER, you should probably only use 2 cloves. I added about 7 green olives to my hummus and some olive oil (instead of extra bean juice). Without any changes at all, I think this hummus would still be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a great receipe!! I made this a while back for a summer pool party and was a big hit! Thank you! I followed the receipe exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I used this recipe to save a different hummus recipe that I wasn't fond of. Because of that, I had more cumin than this recipe called for and some olive oil, but the EVOO won't affect the taste. There was too much lemon juice, imo. I did not use jalapenos since I don't like spice, but other than that it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I just made this for the first time and found it a little bland. I did add some extra reserve liquid and about a T of olive oil to make it fluffier. To punch it up a bit I chopped some roasted red peppers to garnish the top. Super easy and I will probably make it again but I was not blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this hummus when I found that my tahani had gone bad. It was good - added olive oil for a smoother consistency and some of the reserved liquid. Used roasted red pepper, cumin and cayenne pepper for a kick. Also approx 2 cloves of garlic and a bit of salt with the juice of one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Like another reviewer, I love garlic, but this was way too much. I will definitely make it again but go with 2 cloves so the garlic is there but more muted. I also had to add more bean liquid and olive oil to make it a smooth consistency. I do NOT like heat, so I left out the jalapenos. Definitely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States