Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've used this hummus recipe for a couple of years now. I've made it as written, which I find to be too garlicky for my personal taste. I've made the following modifications, based on other reviews and then added to, which I love: - Drain the bean juice but don't rinse the beans (since it calls for adding bean juice back anyway. - Add 1/4 tsp salt - Add about 1/4 cup of julienned sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil, let their olive oil come with them (instead of adding separate olive oil). - No garlic cloves, instead used about 1tsp garlic paste. - Add 1/4 tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp red pepper DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This tastes nothing like hummus, it just tastes like chickpea paste. I prefer a traditional recipe that includes tahini and olive oil (which has GOOD fats in it). I tried this because of all the rave reviews. Anyway, I was going to serve it at a party, but I won't call this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this, good but I added a little salt and a tablespoon of olive oil, better. A little bland before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is a 10 out of 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enchantress1469
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Omitted jalapeno. Added roasted garlic cloves and sundried tomato strips. Adjusted reserved juice to make it creamier. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enchantress1469

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I did as the reviewers suggested and added more reserved liquid. It was wonderful. Simple and easy to make. Definitely a keeper. I have made this three times already and love it. Question??? What else can I use hummus for. I have been using it with veggies but would like to use it more. What are your suggestions. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
REALLY easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
this is a wonderful easy recipe. Thank you. Especially at my place I couldn't find tahini!! I ate them with grilled vegetables and grilled marinated chicken. they taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I had heard of hummus before so decided to try this recipe. Pretty good, but Im definitely no expert. I used my canned jalepenos and added a little peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I didn’t realize it was so easy and cheap to make. Just put a couple of ingredients in the food processer and it is done within a minute. Guess this means I’ve been permanently liberated from buying grocery store hummus. I did change a few things. First, I didn’t use canned juice.I added 2Tbs of tahini oil. I also added a little more water to smooth it out and extra salt to taste. If you are sensitive to warm foods, I would suggest not adding the jalapeño. Other than that, it was pretty good. And did I mention that garbanzo beans are a super food that is also a great source of fiber, protein, and healthy fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States