Easy Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Wow! Against my better judgement I used a can of blackeyed peas, by the time it was ready to serve the peas were overcooked and mushy. Next time frozen peas only. Overall, I found it very tasty and just spicey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Pugmire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was great! I made a half recipe using left over hickory smoked ham. I cooked basmati rice, so added 1 cup of chicken bouillon. I used only 1/8 tsp cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was delicious! Only thing I changed was the seasoning. The little bit of cayenne would leave it bland. I did Cajun seasoning, black pepper, garlic powder and chili powder. I also did Brown minute rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My entire family loved this. We used 2 lbs sausage as all my boys were insisting 1 package would not be enough, but then they love meat overkill. One pound would be plenty! We will be making this again, its an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I make this all the time, not just for New Years Day. I also add a can of diced tomatoes with chilis and I use long grain rice. My 23 yr old grandson absolutely loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was the best Hoppin' John I've ever made. The only change I made (which didn't affect the taste at all) was: I ALWAYS cook regular long-grain rice in a microwave cooker especially made just for rice. It makes dependable fluffy rice every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My recipe is just about the same except I use the cajun trinity and I use pre-cooked rice. This is so much better then red beans and rice. Delicious any time of the year. Goes great with cronbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good for New Year's Day - Used Johnsonville turkey sausage, adjusted everything for 6 servings, used 2 cans peas; 1 can drained diced tomatoes; a dash cajun seasoning instead of cayenne; cooked onion and garlic with 2 slices bacon, then disgarded bacon since we're trying to eat healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the first year that I am actually enjoying the black eye pea part of New Year. This dish is amazing!! Now if I can just keep my husband out of the pot until the cornbread is done...lol I did make my own stock with chicken base so the flavor is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States