Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
FAB! I have made green beans like the this forever. The only thing I do differently is I rinse my beans a couple of times and it helps get the taste of the can away from them..They are really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is my recipe so of course I am going to give it a 5. I have noticed some people saying that it was to salty. If you are going to cook the beans for more than 20 minutes try using salt free green beans or add water throughout the cooking process. These are "easy" homestlye green beans. The recipe I submitted was for a great side in little time. You can cook them for hours you will just need more beans, water, boullion and be sure to taste them throughout the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I grew up with snapping beans and all....I use the crockpot....and simmer all day....I also add potatoes to the ingredients....lots of onions and bacon..brings back memories of the farm...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I substituted chopped ham for the bacon. I let the ham, and onions simmer a while in the liquid from the beans with the bouillion. When the onions were cooked then I added the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Always rinse your cans of green beans! It takes out the can-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
These were very quick and easy to make and tasted great! I used fresh beans instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
These are good. I doctor these up with a touch of bacon fat, salt, pepper and garlic and/or garlic powder. Let simmer a good while for best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I was very surprised by this recipe. It was easy, cheap and very tasty. I doubled the recipe and added more chicken bouillon and onions (frozen chopped onions). Simmering is what brings out the flavor. Went great with a beef tenderloin and potatoes I prepared. Will make many more times I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Good but still tasted like green beans out of a can. I like the cooking style so I'll still give it 5 stars because this will be good with thawed frozen green beans or fresh ones. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
So easy & very good! Tastes like Grandma's beans she'd cook all day long. YUM! I had to more than quadruple the recipe for the party I was serving them at. I would suggest reserving the liquid from the cans of beans and then adding in what you feel necessary. Mine were a bit soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States