Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Easy to make; we thought it tasted better after sitting in the frig for a day. Unsalted beans might work a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I modified this a little. I had turkey stock handy, so substituted that for the bouillon. I used more bacon and onions because I like them. Turned out super. Couldn’t be quicker or easier, my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe turned out great just as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
FAB! I have made green beans like the this forever. The only thing I do differently is I rinse my beans a couple of times and it helps get the taste of the can away from them..They are really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and my husband & daughter love it. I use real bacon bits instead of bacon it is alot quicker for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Really liked this...something different. I do agree with previous reviewer that it is a bit salty. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is my recipe so of course I am going to give it a 5. I have noticed some people saying that it was to salty. If you are going to cook the beans for more than 20 minutes try using salt free green beans or add water throughout the cooking process. These are "easy" homestlye green beans. The recipe I submitted was for a great side in little time. You can cook them for hours you will just need more beans, water, boullion and be sure to taste them throughout the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bootz Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The bouillon cube made this quite salty. I might try this again with more beans using fresh blanched beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was a very salty recipe. Next time I try it, I will substitute chicken stock instead of the chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Pretty good grean beans, but not the flavor I was going for. I used frozen green beans that I had boiled a little, so I added the boiling liquid. Maybe too much? After simmering for 1.5 hours, I didn't have much bacon or onion flavor, just the grease. Dinner guests seemed to like it. I thought it kind of tasted like a blander version of Cracker Barrel's green beans with all the grease. My favorite green bean recipe on this site is still the "Best Green Beans".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States