Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
To get rid of the canned taste, one really does need to rinse the beans a couple times draining out of canned liquid and cook in chicken or vegetable broth or use Goya Ham seasoning for a real southern taste. Using broth reduces the sodium content that bullion cubes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I would have given it 10 stars if I could! Yum!!! I pretty much followed the recipe, only modifying slightly. Here's what I did. I used very meaty bacon. I used a whole sliced onion. I rinsed the beans and discarded the liquid. After adding the beans to the onions and bacon, I added about 1/4 c water and sprinkled with about 1/3- 1/2 a seasoning packet from Top Ramen. I tried it twice. We liked the beef packet better than chicken. SOOOO yummy. I don't think I'll ever make the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom soup (which I LOVE by the way) again because this is so much better. Thanks Jenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These are excellent. I have been making a similar version for years. I never put in chicken broth before and I always do it in the microwave. I make this type of green beans for every holiday or occasion when we have a get together; almost everybody loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
is there ay other wy to cook green beans ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is for those who thought the beans tasted like the can. Just add a tsp of brown sugar per can You'll never know that they're not home canned green beans! Also try cooking them with jowl bacon (available at all supermarkets). The old fashioned way of cooking! Don't use the whole piece, it doesn't take a whole lot to flavor the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These certainly were good. You would never know they were out of a can. I used precooked bacon and dried minced onion (about 2T). There were no leftovers and The Hungry Teen had seconds saying, "You know Mom, green beans are my favorite vegetable ever". Yeah, they are really good this way. Tastes like you spent all day in just minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These green beans are really good, I love the addition of the bacon and especially the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Faulkner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are amazing! So simple. I always make them for a huge crowd, usually at least 100, and cook them slow for a long time and everyone raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbcvenue@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I didn't change a thing. I used green beans without salt. It was delish. I followed the advice of another user and washed the green beans to get rid of the can taste. My son (10 years old) devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Always rinse your cans of green beans! It takes out the can-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States