Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and my husband & daughter love it. I use real bacon bits instead of bacon it is alot quicker for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Really liked this...something different. I do agree with previous reviewer that it is a bit salty. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is my recipe so of course I am going to give it a 5. I have noticed some people saying that it was to salty. If you are going to cook the beans for more than 20 minutes try using salt free green beans or add water throughout the cooking process. These are "easy" homestlye green beans. The recipe I submitted was for a great side in little time. You can cook them for hours you will just need more beans, water, boullion and be sure to taste them throughout the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The bouillon cube made this quite salty. I might try this again with more beans using fresh blanched beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was a very salty recipe. Next time I try it, I will substitute chicken stock instead of the chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Pretty good grean beans, but not the flavor I was going for. I used frozen green beans that I had boiled a little, so I added the boiling liquid. Maybe too much? After simmering for 1.5 hours, I didn't have much bacon or onion flavor, just the grease. Dinner guests seemed to like it. I thought it kind of tasted like a blander version of Cracker Barrel's green beans with all the grease. My favorite green bean recipe on this site is still the "Best Green Beans".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Great recipe. It was so easy to acheive such amazing flavors. I let it simmer for about an hour and a half...I used "no salt added" canned green beans & it still came out a little too salty. Also, next time I would cut the bacon in bigger pieces, so I could remove them from the beans when ready to serve. We thought the bacon gave it great flavor, but there was too much of it to sort through - to get to the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
They do taste like my grandmother's beans that took her all day to cook. Quick and easy- didn't have any bacon so used turkey smoked sausage instead and these were fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I grew up with snapping beans and all....I use the crockpot....and simmer all day....I also add potatoes to the ingredients....lots of onions and bacon..brings back memories of the farm...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My kids said I need to double the recipe because they ran out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States