Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is how I've made green beans for years; I learned it from my mother-in-law. They are delicious and always the first thing on the table to go. It is key with canned green beans to drain and rinse them well to get rid of that canned taste. I just add about a can of water to make up for the lost liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Easy dish to make and who doesn't love bacon. I used frozen green beans instead of canned, so I added about a half cup of chicken broth to compensate for the water you'd get out of the can. I made my broth using some chicken base, so I left out the bouillon cube. Didn't feel it needed it. Also couldn't help it... I had to add some fresh chopped garlic. Everyone liked them and I served them along side some sauerkraut and kielbasa. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My family LOVED these! I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 a can of beef stock, since I didn't have chicken boullion. I simmered them for 1 hour. They tasted like they cooked all day. My 6 year old ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found for canned green beans. It's simple, quick and easy to make. I changed two ingredients to cut down on the amount of salt: I used turkey ham instead of bacon and eliminated the chicken bouillon. My husband (who basically hates veggies) liked this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is what I've been searching years for. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Positively delicious. Made no changes to recipe...it was PERFECT. Double the recipe...it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were good, but nothing special (IMHO).... I hosted Easter dinner this year. I needed to find a side that involved little prep since I had to devote most of my time and energy to the ham and other sides I was preparing. I had all of the ingredients on hand (except for the green beans - go figure!), so I opted for this recipe. Everyone really enjoyed these (including my mom and my bf, a confirmed canned green bean HATER!). I wanted a second helping (mainly, because I didn't care for the ham), but there were none left! I forgot to rinse my beans (many reviewers warned about saltiness), but despite this, I didn't mind. I would make these again, but only for special occasions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I cooked as is and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I fry the bacon a little crispy and break them up more before adding the rest. Even my one year old eats them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teagan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States