Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This remains the best recipe, I add 1/4 tsp. coarse black pepper for that "Indiana Church Supper" taste I grew up with. I double the recipe and freeze individual servings to take for lunch. They freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Used fresh haricots verts rather than canned green beans and shallot rather than onion. Boiled the haricots verts about 5 minutes, then immediately transferred them to an ice bath. Meantime, I sauteed the bacon, shallots and some minced garlic, then added the haricots verts just long enough to heat them through. Didn't use the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
If I could give this a ten I would! I made this for Thanksgiving and my husband and kids LOVED IT!! My husband said that noone can make green beans like his mother. That hers have such amazing flavor to them. After he tried it, he was in shock! He said they were better than his moms and he didn't think that was possible! He like it so much, he said I should get the recipe tattooed on my arm so I never loose it. Just so you know, I'm not doing that. LOL That is the ultimate compliment! Thanks for the amazing recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I followed it exactly as written with exception that I used dried minced onion with a little onion powder, instead of raw onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These were fantastic! My whole family loved them. As someone raised on heavy, southern cooking, I was glad to find a recipe that reminded me of my grandma's, but with half the time involved. They were incredibly salty due to the bullion, but still very good. Next time, I might settle for using half a cube of bullion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPar91
Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! I used a 28 oz. can of beans. I doubled the bacon as well but drained off the grease before cooking the onion since it was way too much and the recipe turned out great. Otherwise it would have been too greasy. Will make again my family loved them! Thanks for sharing,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Thanks! This was a great idea and I will definitely make it again. I used 8 oz. frozen beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
yummy. It is quick and easy. I used jar bacon, it is lighter and has more flavor. i put in a t of butter and a chicken bullion cube into 2 cans of green beans and cooked on the stove til hot. mmmm the flavor was so good and the juice after the beans were gone was so yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I would hate to count the sodium in this recipe. Canned beans, bouillon cube and bacon. Don't try it if you are concerned about your sodium intake. Unfortunately, foods high in salt are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States