Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Positively delicious. Made no changes to recipe...it was PERFECT. Double the recipe...it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were good, but nothing special (IMHO).... I hosted Easter dinner this year. I needed to find a side that involved little prep since I had to devote most of my time and energy to the ham and other sides I was preparing. I had all of the ingredients on hand (except for the green beans - go figure!), so I opted for this recipe. Everyone really enjoyed these (including my mom and my bf, a confirmed canned green bean HATER!). I wanted a second helping (mainly, because I didn't care for the ham), but there were none left! I forgot to rinse my beans (many reviewers warned about saltiness), but despite this, I didn't mind. I would make these again, but only for special occasions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I cooked as is and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I fry the bacon a little crispy and break them up more before adding the rest. Even my one year old eats them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teagan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Delicious! I used fresh green beans; cut off the sides and boiled for six minutes,saved a little boil juice, and then added to the bacon and onion mix. The bouillon really adds the perfect flavor for these green beans! Very easy for such wonderful flavor! Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lopez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I'm giving it 4 stars as I didn't make exactly as written, although rates as 5 stars with us. I omitted bacon and used chicken broth instead of boullion. Tasted a lot like the traditional green bean casserole, without all the calories. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Came out great! Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are very good and easy to make. I made them for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them! You can adjust the onions and bacon to your taste as long as you make sure you adjust your seasoning to match. I cooked them in a crockpot on low for a good while and upped all the ingredients. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These were good, but WAY too salty. I didn't have any bacon so I sauteed the onions in olive oil, and added Hormel Real Bacon Bits (about 2.5 tbs). They reminded me of how I ate green beans as a kid. Nobody really got enough, and I really wish I'd made two cans of green beans. My toddler even ate them! Next time I will use low sodium green beans. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States