Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These certainly were good. You would never know they were out of a can. I used precooked bacon and dried minced onion (about 2T). There were no leftovers and The Hungry Teen had seconds saying, "You know Mom, green beans are my favorite vegetable ever". Yeah, they are really good this way. Tastes like you spent all day in just minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These green beans are really good, I love the addition of the bacon and especially the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheResa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are amazing! So simple. I always make them for a huge crowd, usually at least 100, and cook them slow for a long time and everyone raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbcvenue@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I didn't change a thing. I used green beans without salt. It was delish. I followed the advice of another user and washed the green beans to get rid of the can taste. My son (10 years old) devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Always rinse your cans of green beans! It takes out the can-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is how I've made green beans for years; I learned it from my mother-in-law. They are delicious and always the first thing on the table to go. It is key with canned green beans to drain and rinse them well to get rid of that canned taste. I just add about a can of water to make up for the lost liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Easy dish to make and who doesn't love bacon. I used frozen green beans instead of canned, so I added about a half cup of chicken broth to compensate for the water you'd get out of the can. I made my broth using some chicken base, so I left out the bouillon cube. Didn't feel it needed it. Also couldn't help it... I had to add some fresh chopped garlic. Everyone liked them and I served them along side some sauerkraut and kielbasa. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My family LOVED these! I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 a can of beef stock, since I didn't have chicken boullion. I simmered them for 1 hour. They tasted like they cooked all day. My 6 year old ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found for canned green beans. It's simple, quick and easy to make. I changed two ingredients to cut down on the amount of salt: I used turkey ham instead of bacon and eliminated the chicken bouillon. My husband (who basically hates veggies) liked this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is what I've been searching years for. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States