Easy Homestyle Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I agree with the other reviews. The green beans tasted like I cooked them for a much longer period of time. I love the ease of this recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edyegourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a very easy and good way to dress up a can of Green Beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
very quick and easy...family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My family loved these!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe. I like to add potatoes tho which take away alot of the salt and leaves the flavor. Then you can salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
To get rid of the canned taste, one really does need to rinse the beans a couple times draining out of canned liquid and cook in chicken or vegetable broth or use Goya Ham seasoning for a real southern taste. Using broth reduces the sodium content that bullion cubes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I would have given it 10 stars if I could! Yum!!! I pretty much followed the recipe, only modifying slightly. Here's what I did. I used very meaty bacon. I used a whole sliced onion. I rinsed the beans and discarded the liquid. After adding the beans to the onions and bacon, I added about 1/4 c water and sprinkled with about 1/3- 1/2 a seasoning packet from Top Ramen. I tried it twice. We liked the beef packet better than chicken. SOOOO yummy. I don't think I'll ever make the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom soup (which I LOVE by the way) again because this is so much better. Thanks Jenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These are excellent. I have been making a similar version for years. I never put in chicken broth before and I always do it in the microwave. I make this type of green beans for every holiday or occasion when we have a get together; almost everybody loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
is there ay other wy to cook green beans ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is for those who thought the beans tasted like the can. Just add a tsp of brown sugar per can You'll never know that they're not home canned green beans! Also try cooking them with jowl bacon (available at all supermarkets). The old fashioned way of cooking! Don't use the whole piece, it doesn't take a whole lot to flavor the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States