Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Superb!! is all that I can say about this. I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and about 1 tablespoon of cinnamon to this basic recipe and WOW! The cinnamon is not overpowering but makes you think, HMMM! What is that? Again, SUPER, SUPERB!!! I will definetly keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I made it with the refridgerator/freezer method because I don't have an ice cream maker. It has great consistency, similar to store bought ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful, easy recipe. With using the sweet & condensed milk, there is no graininess of undissolved sugar. You can easily substitute the ingredients to make a less fat variety - which is what I did when making the first time. I substituted whole milk for the 2 cups whipping cream to cut back on the fat, and it was still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this several times using the freezer method and it was creamy and wonderful. The only thing I changed is I only used 1 tablespoon of vanilla. We have added chopped fruit to it and poured it in a chocolate graham cracker crust to make Ice Cream pie. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! So incredibly easy, so I was thinking it can't be that good. But it is! I love how it doesn't require eggs or cooking. Just dump everything into a bowl, stir, and put it in your ice cream maker. The flavor is so rich and delicious. Upon first bite my husband proclaimed "We're never buying store-bought ice cream again!" Next I want to try using whole milk instead of half and half, and adding fruits or other goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe for ice cream football, a favorite family activity. First, half the recipe. Then put all the ingredients in a quart size ziploc bag (only half recipe will fit). Double bag it so it stays secure. Then fill a gallon size ziploc with ice and salt, nesting the bag of ice cream ingredients in the middle of all the ice. Double bag the gallon bag so it stays secure. Then wrap the whole package in several layers of newspaper and packing tape. Take it outside and play a game of football or keep away or just toss it around for an hour. When you unwrap the whole thing, you will have easy ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Great recipe. Quick, easy, and tastes great! I followed the advice in one review and used whole milk instead of half and half. I also added a mango puree mixture (fresh ripe mangoes with sugar) to the mixture after it started to freeze in the churner. Yummy to the max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Way to easy for something so absolutely delicious. Company raved on the richness. Next time I'll try some fruit mixed in. This will be the only ice cream recipe I'll ever use and I'll just doctor it to the flavor that I want. If I could give this higher than 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Excellent taste and very quick and easy to make w/ an electric ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made it with the freezer method. Taste is 10 stars but yhe directions weren't real clear so I gave it a 3. To Fold in the whipping cream means 2 cups whipping cream, whipped, which the directions aren't real clear about that.. I ended up pouring the mixture into my blender and whipping it until it was fluffier. It was delicious. I added 1/4 cup instant coffee and a 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder. It was mocha ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States