Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My daughter can't have sugar or milk (but she can have cream), so I substituted whipping cream for the half-and-half, and 1 cup of honey plus 1/8 tsp of salt for the Sweetened Condensed milk. It turned out awesome! I will definitely make it again, using a little less honey, and perhaps a few different flavor options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was a bit disappointed by this easy recipe. I followed it exactly, but once frozen, the consistency was like ice milk not ice cream. It immediately melted in my mouth like milk. I'm all for easy, but not after I had another recipe that had 1 extra step but was oh so creamy and delicious. I used 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of 2% milk and beat it until the sugar was dissolved. Then I added just under a tablespoon of vanilla and 3 cups of heavy whipping cream and poured it in the ice cream maker. I put it in the freezer for a bit before serving. It was so incredibly creamy that my husband told me it was the best he's ever had. You get what you pay for....you want ice cream...use heavy cream. You can always add candy/cookies/fruit on the last 5 minutes. It's very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Very easy and tastes great! I prefer the cooked version with eggs but this is nearly as good and much faster and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
A very easy and yummy recipe that doesn't require cooking with eggs and extra sugar. You can throw anything in with it like chopped frozen cherries and chocolate chips. I have a ice cream maker and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Amazing and so easy! I like the fact that I don't have to use eggs or egg beaters. I used 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of 1% milk and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Best and easiest recipe for ice cream. This is good enough to be an all-purpose work around. You want chocolate ice cream? Just make this and add chocolate syrup. You want raspberry ice cream? Just add the berries here. It really is an amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Initial flavor and texture was really good. After freezing it, both the flavor and texture was undesirable for ice cream. It was more like Ice Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made it with the freezer method. Taste is 10 stars but yhe directions weren't real clear so I gave it a 3. To Fold in the whipping cream means 2 cups whipping cream, whipped, which the directions aren't real clear about that.. I ended up pouring the mixture into my blender and whipping it until it was fluffier. It was delicious. I added 1/4 cup instant coffee and a 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder. It was mocha ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
So easy and creamy delicous. We did not wait for the ice cream freezer to stop, it had been going for over an hour. Maybe I did not put enought salt from the git-go. Not sure, but when we did open it... Wow, it was very good and creamy the adults didn't get much because the kids induldged. They loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was awesome and I got complements from everyone who tried it. I used the freezer method, and it was much better than ice cream that I've made using an ice cream maker. I made some cookie dough (from an eggless cookie dough truffle recipe on this site) and mixed that in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States