Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Just made the vanilla in our ice cream maker... YUMMY.. right now at soft serve status.. put in freezer like our machine's manual says... Starting the Strawberry Banana now :) Thank you for such a great and easy recipe.. oh PS followed recipe exactly first time.. this time just added fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooksFamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've tried several different homemade ice cream recipes and this is by far the best one. I actually used only half a recipe to try it out and in my Kitchenaid stand mixer, ice cream maker attachment bowl, the mix tripled in volume. I wouldn't do the whole recipe as it wouldn't get as much air and might not be as light and creamy. I added pureed mangos as well as peaches sweetened with about 1/4 cup of splenda. I also added a tablespoon of triple sec to make sure it didn't get too hard in the freezer. It not only tastes amazing but has a smooth and creamy consistency. I am going to use this base for all sorts of different flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My family loved this! We had to double the batch to fill our freezer. We have made 2 vanilla and 1 oreo cookie. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tastes like frozen Sweetened Condensed Milk. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Not bad. Not actually good either. It would be better if it had more fat in it, and that's the honest truth. Nothing wrong with the flavor, if you want more vanilla, add more vanilla. Taste the mixture before you freeze it to make sure it tastes vanilla enough. Really if you want to use this recipe and you want it to be creamy, use 2 cups half&half and 2 cups heavy cream or whipping cream (not whipped cream, not Cool Whip!) rather than 4 of half&half, it'll improve the texture. This ice cream is best enjoyed the day it's made -- after that it gets crystallized. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Combining the simplicity of the recipe and the final taste it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I normally make a custard based ice cream and was looking for a quick recipe when I came across this one. Made it exactly as the recipe and it was GREAT!! Creamy and not too sweet. Tasted like soft serve from the local ice cream shop. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
this is more the consistency of ice milk well not even flavor was good but did not taste like ice cream wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nelliston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
THIS WAS AMAZING!!!! I was so surprised that you only need a few ingredients. BUT IT TURNED OUT SO GREAT!! I replaced vanilla extract with vanilla imitation, cause 2 tbsp of vanilla extract may be too strong. It came out great! Tasted just like the Breyers brand ice cream. I don't have an ice cream maker, but, what I did was first put the mixture in the fridge for half an hour, then I put it in the freezer and took out every half an hour. I scraped the edges and mixed it. I repeated this every half hour till it got its good frozen texture. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Rich flavor thanks to the sweetened condensed milk. Perfect base recipe for adding fruit and other flavors! This is going to my go-to recipe when it comes to ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGANBENN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States