Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is my 1st attempt on making a pie crust from scratch.. so I followed everything exactly and was kinda nervous at first but it came out really well! Flaky and really light! Chef John never fails to impress! Oh and I had some dough left for half a crust, lolz..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Exceptional. Very easy instructions. The addition of the vinegar really makes the crust very flaky. I will recommend this recipe to all my friends. The video is very very good. Just a note, use the metal chopping blade, not the dough blade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very very easy, indeed. I ended up with enough for 3 crusts, but I tend to end up with more no matter the recipe--I think maybe my pie pans are small. I used this crust for the Tarte Aux Moutarde (perfect complement!) and the Tomato Pie I, both of which are on here. I did have to add a bit more water, but that is going to depend on your humidity anyway; it isn't the recipe's fault. The crust is very flaky and delicious. A good complement to savory dishes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The recipe should also contain some directions for cooking without a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have been baking for a very long time, & pie crusts always made me nervous and were hard to conquer. Until now that is! This recipe is very easy to work with- it rolls out beautifully without breaking apart. And it delicious. This will definitely be my go to recipe from here on out! I partially roll the crusts inside Saran wrap & then transfer to lightly floured surface. Easy as pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cooks Alot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
After 50 years (yes, 50) of trying without success to make a decent pie crust, I have finally found this ***wonderful, delicious*** recipe. THANK YOU Chef John. If you were here I would kiss you... on the lips. ;-) Watching the video several times before I started helped me a great deal and, as directed, I followed the recipe fanatically, using a scale to measure *exactly* 12 ounces of flour and 1 cup of butter (226 grams). I am so delighted that I no longer suffer from pie-crust paranoia and I can't wait to experiment with new fillings. This first success was a cherry pie with a lattice crust but next week I'll attempt an apple. Interestingly, many people claim that a shortening-based recipe is superior, but this recipe (and Martha Stewart's recipe that many people adore) prove that butter is a godsend to cooks and bakers everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wonderful pie crust! I use it for all my crusts from quiche to apple pie. If I need a sweet crust I just add sugar to taste. I don't even refrigerate it, I just roll it on wax paper and then just flip it over on to the pan, easy! My mother used to tell me "Oh you make such wonderful fillings" now everyone wants my crust recipe too! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Easiest pie crust I've ever made. And all done in the food processor! Great flavor, easy to roll out & doesn't rip when you stretch it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
INCREDIBLE! I can't say enough good things about this recipe. It is the flakiest pie crust I have ever made. It not only is delicious, it is so easy to work with. I watched the video first, which is an added plus. It was so easy to make the dough but the way it handled after refrigeration was outstanding. After cleaning my food processor, I wished I had made extra dough to freeze. Next time I will! Thank you Chef John for another INCREDIBLE recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have to get better at giving pie crusts a nice edge. Mine didn't look very pretty but that's my fault. This recipe was easy and really good. My food processor isn't big enough to hold the entire volume of this recipe so I had a few issues with that. Also, I bought salted butter by mistake. I was still happy with the flavor though because I was making a savory dish with the crust. In the future I will stick to unsalted butter, especially if making a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States