Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very very easy, indeed. I ended up with enough for 3 crusts, but I tend to end up with more no matter the recipe--I think maybe my pie pans are small. I used this crust for the Tarte Aux Moutarde (perfect complement!) and the Tomato Pie I, both of which are on here. I did have to add a bit more water, but that is going to depend on your humidity anyway; it isn't the recipe's fault. The crust is very flaky and delicious. A good complement to savory dishes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Exceptional. Very easy instructions. The addition of the vinegar really makes the crust very flaky. I will recommend this recipe to all my friends. The video is very very good. Just a note, use the metal chopping blade, not the dough blade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Thanks a lot chef John, simply i remove from my book all the other recipe and keep this, i make it with arabic desert called HAREESEH, my family and guest jut love it, consider for parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is my 1st attempt on making a pie crust from scratch.. so I followed everything exactly and was kinda nervous at first but it came out really well! Flaky and really light! Chef John never fails to impress! Oh and I had some dough left for half a crust, lolz..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Perfect!! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have been baking for a very long time, & pie crusts always made me nervous and were hard to conquer. Until now that is! This recipe is very easy to work with- it rolls out beautifully without breaking apart. And it delicious. This will definitely be my go to recipe from here on out! I partially roll the crusts inside Saran wrap & then transfer to lightly floured surface. Easy as pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cooks Alot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Easy to work with and so easy make in food processor. I used 1 cup white wheat and 1 1/2 cups AP flour. Other than that, I followed exactly and was happy with the results. Waiting for pie to cool to do the taste test! The crust was soo good! I had compliments on the crust and the entire pie! This is my crust recipe from now on, and the apple pie! I used Chef Jon's Classic American Apple Pie from his site Food Wishes. http://foodwishes.blogspot.com/2009/11/classic-american-apple-pie-warning-this.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Easiest pie crust I've ever made. And all done in the food processor! Great flavor, easy to roll out & doesn't rip when you stretch it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I can't believe I messed up this recipe this bad and it still turned out OK! I only put 1/2 C butter in by mistake - I kept adding ice water thinking the recipe was wrong - nope - I was wrong! It still turned out pretty good - not as light/flaky as it would had I not been blind as a bat - but still usable. Used it with the peach berry pie from this site. I'll use the recipe again - and wear my glasses and I bet it will be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have to get better at giving pie crusts a nice edge. Mine didn't look very pretty but that's my fault. This recipe was easy and really good. My food processor isn't big enough to hold the entire volume of this recipe so I had a few issues with that. Also, I bought salted butter by mistake. I was still happy with the flavor though because I was making a savory dish with the crust. In the future I will stick to unsalted butter, especially if making a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States