Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very buttery crust. Easy to make with hand too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used this for my family's Thanksgiving pumpkin pie and we did not find it to have the flaky crust or wonderful flavor that others reported. I do not have a food processor, using instead a pastry cutter. I think I am going back to lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Excellent. This is just like the recipe I've used for years, with the one simple change of 1 Tablespoon cider vinegar. I was astonished at the difference that made. Isn't chemistry wonderful? I do wish Chef John would always also give instructions for NOT using a food processor, since many people don't have one or don't like to use it for little projects. I only use mine for big projects like canning. It's just not worth the bother when making something as simple as a pie crust. An ordinary hand pastry blender is just as fast and effective, and a whole lot easier to clean up. Just make sure you get the strong bent-metal kind of pastry blender, not the wimpy wire kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This turned out great. I made a half recipe, and used cold water rather than ice water. It made enough dough for two 4" glass dishes, each about 1" deep, that I filled with a pear-pie filling (also from a recipe on here), and had enough dough leftover to put a thin layer of crust on top. So a half recipe basically gave me two pear "pot-pies," which were great. It might not be the best tasting or flakiest crust I've ever had or made, but given its simplicity, it is super "bang for the buck."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is my favorite pie crust recipe! Amazing and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christine
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I found that it needed a tad more water than called for, but the result was an oh so flaky, buttery crust! Put my chicken pot pie over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This made a crisp, light, flakey crust thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
When I typed in "easy pie crust" I was resigned to finding a recipe for just an OK pie crust, nothing spectacular. This was the first recipe that popped up and when I saw it was from Chef John, I knew I didn't need to look any farther. Chef John is a genius! And this recipe was no exception. Buttery and insanely flaky. And it could NOT have been any easier to make. It was perfect for my quiche and, with a little sugar added, will be perfect for my Turkey Day pies. Big hugs to you, John. I love your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
So tasty and easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I tried this crust recipe last night and I love it. I will definitely be using this crust for all my pies for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb de la Fuente

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States