Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ALENAV
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Easy as pie! Flaky and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALENAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Perfect recipe for a first time making crust! It turned out flaky and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've been trying various butter pie crust recipes for many years & always produced crusts no better than the store bought kind until now. I'm so happy for this recipe!!! Your technique is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patches
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is the first pie crust I've tried in 30 years. I've never had any luck with them so just gave up. Watched the video (great tip about putting cut up butter in freezer) and gave it a try. Using the food processor made it so easy and it turned out flaky and tender! I used it on a chicken pot pie and it was delicious. If I can do it, anyone can. I thank you Chef John and so does my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I just used this pie crust with Mrs. Sigg's Pumpkin pie on this site and it came out wonderful! I have never been very good at making pie crust, and I am an avid baker, but this recipe makes me look like a pro! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I love a crust that doesn't have eggs in them. These were so easy!!! What I do first is to place the water/vinegar in the freezer to chill while prepping the flour & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have made many pies, actually pride myself on making a good crust, but never had a food processor. Just bought one and my husband tried this recipe and it was incredible, quick, and easy.... Will use again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is the best pie crust recipe. Perfect every time. I actually replace one cup of the flour with whole wheat flour for a nuttier taste which I love. I will use this crust forever as it is the best I have used in 35 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I wonder if the flour and/or butter used in the USA are very different from what we use here (Portugal), because it's the second time I try this kind of crust and I've confirmed that adding more than 1 tablespoon of water is too much (I actually made the mistake this time of adding a second one and the dough became all sticky and not workable at all, had to add an absurd amount of flour to fix it). That said, it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Nice and flaky. Used with Chef John's Quiche Lorraine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States