Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is the best pie crust, hands down! Flaky, tender and tasty. It is precisely the same one I use, except for using a food processor to mix it, who knew! Thank you for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Love this! It's my go-to pie crust now. Made as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly as stated. Made a deep-dish, double crust apple pie using one of Chef John's video apple pie recipes (no link to an online recipe). Delicious. Crust was flaky and tasty. Had always used an old "standby" pie crust recipe but the food processor made this SO much easier! Only downside was the crust suffered from refrigeration after the pie was made. It became "sticky" and stuck to the pie plate. Suggest NOT refrigerating the pie when done. That is how I will handle it next time but this will be my new go-to pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was my first homemade crust so I'm no expert but this one sounded easy so I tried it and it was. Had to add a little more water and pulse a few extra times to get it to come together at the end. Crust was better than any I've bought from the store and easy enough that I won't be buying any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Tried recipe because it had easy in title. Not only easy but simple and quick. Love this recipe, have used it 7 times. This is my go to recipe since I have had many people rave about how delicious my pies were. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is a great crust. I do have a problem, though. I find that I cannot reach the consistency as shown in the video using the same amount of water/cider vinegar. I added two teaspoons of water and still didn't reach that "cohesive" blend. I may need to add more water but I want to hear what others say. I live at about 20 feet above sea level and that may make a difference. I will add an additional 1/4 cup water to get the dough to start to gather as a lump rather than using the recipe that leaves it as granules that I press together. It makes a great crust but it makes handling a problem which leads to less than great results visually. Lots of ideas here, but this is the crust I was looking for: tasty, flaky and just the basis of any great recipe. Could use some help here if you have any ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The crust tasted just fine. I liked using the food processor to make it - that should have made it simpler but I made 1.5 times the recipe and I had issues when I added the liquid: it leaked out of my 9-cup food processor! So just a warning, I think it's best to make exactly one recipe at a time. Otherwise, method and flavor are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very buttery crust. Easy to make with hand too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used this for my family's Thanksgiving pumpkin pie and we did not find it to have the flaky crust or wonderful flavor that others reported. I do not have a food processor, using instead a pastry cutter. I think I am going back to lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Excellent. This is just like the recipe I've used for years, with the one simple change of 1 Tablespoon cider vinegar. I was astonished at the difference that made. Isn't chemistry wonderful? I do wish Chef John would always also give instructions for NOT using a food processor, since many people don't have one or don't like to use it for little projects. I only use mine for big projects like canning. It's just not worth the bother when making something as simple as a pie crust. An ordinary hand pastry blender is just as fast and effective, and a whole lot easier to clean up. Just make sure you get the strong bent-metal kind of pastry blender, not the wimpy wire kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States