Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I will never ever use another pie crust recipe again!!! I LOVE this one. It's so easy and quick! Thank you thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Fantastic! This is exactly for 2 9-inch deep pie crusts (eg quiche). You may need to add a little more water but remember that the more water you add the less flaky and tender it will become after baking. For quiche didn't need to bake the crust blind, baked the quiche once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This dough was pretty dry and crumbly, and needed extra water. Otherwise, it was easy to handle and baked up to a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I don't know what went wrong. I followed the recipe and video exactly, or so I thought, but the mixture came out extremely crumbly. It would not hold together and I could not use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is the best pie crust, hands down! Flaky, tender and tasty. It is precisely the same one I use, except for using a food processor to mix it, who knew! Thank you for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Love this! It's my go-to pie crust now. Made as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly as stated. Made a deep-dish, double crust apple pie using one of Chef John's video apple pie recipes (no link to an online recipe). Delicious. Crust was flaky and tasty. Had always used an old "standby" pie crust recipe but the food processor made this SO much easier! Only downside was the crust suffered from refrigeration after the pie was made. It became "sticky" and stuck to the pie plate. Suggest NOT refrigerating the pie when done. That is how I will handle it next time but this will be my new go-to pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was my first homemade crust so I'm no expert but this one sounded easy so I tried it and it was. Had to add a little more water and pulse a few extra times to get it to come together at the end. Crust was better than any I've bought from the store and easy enough that I won't be buying any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Tried recipe because it had easy in title. Not only easy but simple and quick. Love this recipe, have used it 7 times. This is my go to recipe since I have had many people rave about how delicious my pies were. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is a great crust. I do have a problem, though. I find that I cannot reach the consistency as shown in the video using the same amount of water/cider vinegar. I added two teaspoons of water and still didn't reach that "cohesive" blend. I may need to add more water but I want to hear what others say. I live at about 20 feet above sea level and that may make a difference. I will add an additional 1/4 cup water to get the dough to start to gather as a lump rather than using the recipe that leaves it as granules that I press together. It makes a great crust but it makes handling a problem which leads to less than great results visually. Lots of ideas here, but this is the crust I was looking for: tasty, flaky and just the basis of any great recipe. Could use some help here if you have any ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States