Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bedin
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I think the suggestion of medium high heat is too high (for my stove at least). This sauce looked like pudding when I followed the directions. I quickly added some extra milk and butter to turn it back into a sauce. It tastes pretty good. I added some orange zest and a small amount of fresh orange juice because I made it to go in a cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now, both times to accompany ice cream cake. Counter to many suggestions, I recommend actually decreasing the sugar to 1/2 cup if you're going to use it for something that's already super sweet (like ice cream cake). I also decreased the time, as many others suggested, and that made the sauce harden to a shell-like consistency in the freezer. (The first time I made it, I boiled it for the entire 6 minutes and found that it did stay pretty sticky.) Anyway, the equal parts of cocoa and sugar gave the sauce a more "dark chocolate" taste that was a good contrast to the ice cream. Just a suggestion, if you are into that kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Ok flavor. Too thick so I added more milk. It's almost like pudding. Not what I was expecting. The flour made weird blobs in it that never quite seemed to dissolve. If you're looking for lumpy pudding, this is your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Though this thickened up way too much, once I reheated it and mixed in some more milk, it was fine. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I'll never buy chocolate sauce again! This is much better and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieinboise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very easy to make and it reminded me of my Grandmother's homemade chocolate sauce. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The easiest chocolate sauce recipe ever. My kids moved it and so did I. Perfect for pouring over desserts and fruits. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I found the consistency of this unpleasantly gelatinous, and it wasn't quite sweet enough either. I'll be going back to Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent and easy! My said we don't need to buy chocolate syrup at the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just made this sauce and love it! SO easy, had all ingredients in pantry! Rich chocolate taste, creamy, only thing I changed was simmering time. Took it from 6 minutes down to about 4 because it was thick and I didn't want to scorch it. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States