Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I don't usually rate recipes, but felt this one was rated too low. I've made it several times, and refill my 'Smucker's Sundae Syrup' bottle. No one knows the difference, and it is a lot more economical! I follow the recipe exactly, but only simmer for about 3 minutes, and it is thick enough. Perfect amount of chocolate and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I loved this chocolate sauce....deep, rich fudgy flavor and a beautiful, silky texture. It was thick enough to coat a spoon and then some! Being also quick and simple to put together, makes it a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just made this sauce and love it! SO easy, had all ingredients in pantry! Rich chocolate taste, creamy, only thing I changed was simmering time. Took it from 6 minutes down to about 4 because it was thick and I didn't want to scorch it. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very easy to make and it reminded me of my Grandmother's homemade chocolate sauce. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent and easy! My said we don't need to buy chocolate syrup at the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The easiest chocolate sauce recipe ever. My kids moved it and so did I. Perfect for pouring over desserts and fruits. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I'll never buy chocolate sauce again! This is much better and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieinboise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now, both times to accompany ice cream cake. Counter to many suggestions, I recommend actually decreasing the sugar to 1/2 cup if you're going to use it for something that's already super sweet (like ice cream cake). I also decreased the time, as many others suggested, and that made the sauce harden to a shell-like consistency in the freezer. (The first time I made it, I boiled it for the entire 6 minutes and found that it did stay pretty sticky.) Anyway, the equal parts of cocoa and sugar gave the sauce a more "dark chocolate" taste that was a good contrast to the ice cream. Just a suggestion, if you are into that kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this after seeing it under the new reviews and really craving chocolate. I read the reviews first and one person that makes it all the time said it only needed 3 minutes of simmering. I made 1/2 recipe and only simmered for at most 2 minutes. After the milk began to boil, I turned it down to low or 3 on my stove for about a minute whisking and then on off and continued to whisk another 30 seconds to 1 minute instead of turning the stove to medium-high. I have found over cooking stuff like this can cause grittiness or other issues. Although, this tasted fine it honestly reminded me much more of chocolate gravy from this site than the rich, thick, and creamy chocolate dessert toppings I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Though this thickened up way too much, once I reheated it and mixed in some more milk, it was fine. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States