Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
nice flavour, not too sweet, needed more milk for a pouring consistency. Slightly gelatinous texture, one of my kids disliked. Not the best sauce I've had, sauce tended to form a skin due to milk content, however easy to make from store cupboard ingredients .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was Ok. Mild flavor (I had to add more sugar- 1 tbs) and I agree with the comment below, it was somewhat 'gelatinous' in consistency. I guess it depends on what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I don't usually rate recipes, but felt this one was rated too low. I've made it several times, and refill my 'Smucker's Sundae Syrup' bottle. No one knows the difference, and it is a lot more economical! I follow the recipe exactly, but only simmer for about 3 minutes, and it is thick enough. Perfect amount of chocolate and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I loved this chocolate sauce....deep, rich fudgy flavor and a beautiful, silky texture. It was thick enough to coat a spoon and then some! Being also quick and simple to put together, makes it a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this after seeing it under the new reviews and really craving chocolate. I read the reviews first and one person that makes it all the time said it only needed 3 minutes of simmering. I made 1/2 recipe and only simmered for at most 2 minutes. After the milk began to boil, I turned it down to low or 3 on my stove for about a minute whisking and then on off and continued to whisk another 30 seconds to 1 minute instead of turning the stove to medium-high. I have found over cooking stuff like this can cause grittiness or other issues. Although, this tasted fine it honestly reminded me much more of chocolate gravy from this site than the rich, thick, and creamy chocolate dessert toppings I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
The flavor is wonderful, rich and chocolately but if I had followed the instructions I would have had a loose pudding. I never brought the heat higher than medium-low and reduced it as low as I could as soon as it came to a simmer. I doubt I cooked this for more than 4 minutes and it is really a bit thicker than I would prefer. I am already thinking of dark chocolate powder and perhaps less flour for the next time. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I usually make Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce, but decided to try this one tonight. I'm torn because I like Sue's is better, yet it calls for 1/2 cup butter and this one only uses 2 TBS. I'm not concerned about calories, so I'll probably continue to use Sue's, but this was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Just made this tonight and it turned out pretty good. I must admit that I think that will add a little more sugar next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just made this sauce and love it! SO easy, had all ingredients in pantry! Rich chocolate taste, creamy, only thing I changed was simmering time. Took it from 6 minutes down to about 4 because it was thick and I didn't want to scorch it. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent and easy! My said we don't need to buy chocolate syrup at the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States