Easy Homemade Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is my go-to chili recipe. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
As written I would rate as 4, however with the changes I made it was a 5. First, I never put beans in my chili, that is almost a sin. I added minced garlic instead of powder and I used a clove of this. I added a tablespoon of chili powder and used a teaspoon of cumin. I used chili-ready tomatoes which have some seasoning included and only an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I decreased the water to 1 cup rinsing the tomato sauce can and tomato can out with this water. This makes a nice thick bowl of red; add sour cream and shredded cheese to the bowl and you have a wonderful meal. Oh, also make a skillet of cornbread and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
not as much flavor as some chili recipes it was so-so. not bad, but nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
came out perfect, thank you for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spectralite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! This chili is super good and easy to make!! a little less water to make it thicker. Perfect for a cold day with cornbread!!!! mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATBOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
i was very disappointed with this recipe. it was more like a hamburger soup than a chili.i will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
As others have said, this is a good BASIC receipe. We definitely had to jazz it up with more salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and hot sauce. Even then, it was just OK but I give it 3 stars since it's so easy/quick/cheap to make. As others have noted, unless you want Chili soup, do NOT add the extra water. We omitted the water, drained the beans and it was still a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Aiken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a great and very easy recipe. I took the advice of others and omitted the water and instead of chili powder I used a bag of mild chili mix and instead of the garlic powder I used about half a teaspoon of minced garlic. I also used turkey, not beef. I cooked about 10 minutes longer than the original recipe calls for, and without the lid (in the last 10 min.) on low/simmer. It turned out great, topped with cheese and sour cream.Yum. This recipe is a keeper. My hubby loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was good, although I had to use much more chili powder than the recipe called for. My husband loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I added another can of kidney beans and another can of diced tomatoes some hot sauce. It tasted like tomatoes till I put more garlic and chili powder in it. I like it spicy so I added some red crushed peppers It tasted pretty good its simple easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Chili I

Watch how easy it is to make a hearty chili in this video.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States