Easy Homemade Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is not an entry into some chili cook off. I would review it entirely differently if it were. With some minor tweaks, this is a tasty, cheap, fast and easy meal without a doubt. Like others have reviewed, it's definitely a base recipe. I doubled the recipe. It lacked a kick and in my opinion was just on the verge of being bland. I made the following change and it made a hit at the table. Replace the half of the tomato sauce with a mexican tomato canned sauce called Salsa de Chile Fresco. Salsa de Chile Fresco is a tomato sauce with the ingredients : fresh chiles, tomatoes, onions, cilantro and garlic. This gives it just enough kick and flavor to get the taste buds working without killing your guests or your kids. Of course if you already have these ingredients, just add them to your sauce, but sticking to the theme of EASY is the goal here. I also used 3 cans of kidney beans as 2 cans was not enough to offset 2lbs of ground beef. Don't forget I doubled the recipe. Serve with tortilla chips. Objective met!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackapronchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Delicious! only thing i changed was adding more chili powder to make it spicey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabby_shy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Alda, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
We omitted the beans when my friends and I made this chili. We had it with tortilla chips and saltines. This was a really easy and simple recipe. Next time when I make this I'll probably add in some more vegetables like green peppers and corn. Great recipe to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Some changes made: added chopped green pepper & garlic, left out water, added 2 cans stewed tomatos, two cans chili beans, used 1 1/2 Tablespoons Chili Powder. Was a lot of liquid, so I did have to simmer for about an hour. Really good chili, like a cross between Steak N Shakes's chili and Wendy's Chili. Sprinkled quite a bit of Monterey Jack shredded cheese on top of bowls. Served this with "Sweet Cornbread Cake" also from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Used this recipe for my first attempt at making chili. It was easy and quick. It seemed a little watery and not much of bite but it was delish. Servered over some whole wheat elbows and added a lil cheddar cheese on top. It was better the 2nd day and will add some more spice for next time. I froze half for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kazzie21
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was a good "start off point" but I added what most others said they added. I added ALLOT more chili powder because it tasted a little bland and I also added green pepper chopped up and minced garlic. This was a great Recipe for someone who as never made it before. I just added more for my own liking! Turned out great for the first time ever making chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is OK but not great. Having read previous comments, I omitted the water. The chili was still too soupy -- tomato soupy to be specific. And like other reviewers, I also added more spice with extra garlic powder, chili powder and red pepper. This recipe is OK for a quick, basic dish that can be alterred to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My family loves chili and I love quick suppers, so we tried this, I did add a lot more chili powder, a dash of tabasco, as we like it hot, and when I browned the ground beef I added some diced pepper with it, this was awesome, so easy, the kids and hubby loved it, I served it with some Jiffy cornbread which is also very quick and easy and we had a very filling, satisfying, delicious meal on a stormy night......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great basic recipe to embellish...I needed more chili powder (plus some cayenne and cumin), used beef broth and beer for the liquid and had some tomato paste I needed to use up instead of the tomato sauce. Not a four because it needed something else, esp. written as is, and I'm not sure I got it right this time. Again, great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States