Easy Homemade Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was very easy. I soaked and used dried beans, about twice as many as the recipe called for. I also used 1/2 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb. italian sausage, taken out of the casing. As a spice, I used Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is my go-to chili recipe. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
As written I would rate as 4, however with the changes I made it was a 5. First, I never put beans in my chili, that is almost a sin. I added minced garlic instead of powder and I used a clove of this. I added a tablespoon of chili powder and used a teaspoon of cumin. I used chili-ready tomatoes which have some seasoning included and only an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I decreased the water to 1 cup rinsing the tomato sauce can and tomato can out with this water. This makes a nice thick bowl of red; add sour cream and shredded cheese to the bowl and you have a wonderful meal. Oh, also make a skillet of cornbread and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
not as much flavor as some chili recipes it was so-so. not bad, but nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
came out perfect, thank you for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spectralite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! This chili is super good and easy to make!! a little less water to make it thicker. Perfect for a cold day with cornbread!!!! mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATBOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
i was very disappointed with this recipe. it was more like a hamburger soup than a chili.i will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
As others have said, this is a good BASIC receipe. We definitely had to jazz it up with more salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and hot sauce. Even then, it was just OK but I give it 3 stars since it's so easy/quick/cheap to make. As others have noted, unless you want Chili soup, do NOT add the extra water. We omitted the water, drained the beans and it was still a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a great and very easy recipe. I took the advice of others and omitted the water and instead of chili powder I used a bag of mild chili mix and instead of the garlic powder I used about half a teaspoon of minced garlic. I also used turkey, not beef. I cooked about 10 minutes longer than the original recipe calls for, and without the lid (in the last 10 min.) on low/simmer. It turned out great, topped with cheese and sour cream.Yum. This recipe is a keeper. My hubby loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was good, although I had to use much more chili powder than the recipe called for. My husband loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States