Easy Homemade Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is good but why so stingy with the chili powder and garlic powder? It needs a good tablespoon or more of chili powder and I would used a couple of minced fresh garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mystic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I make a chili that is very similar to this one except I don't add water and I use about 1 tbls of chili powder and almost as much ground cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I thought the addition of some tomato paste was needed and I also added some minced garlic to the browned meat. I like a spicier version, although my husband liked this mild chili. I also added cumin, to me this gives it the smoky depth of flavor I am looking for. It is fast and easy to prepare and easy to tweak it to your own tastes. To make it more complete we sometimes serve it over cooked small elbow macaroni and top w/ a little grated monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I added 3/4 cup of celery & green peppers and an extra dash of chilli powder, but it was definitely off the chain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is my first chili making attempt. It was easy, fast, and mighty good tasting. I added more chili powder, chili flakes, Worcestershire and I only use Perrin. I used diced tomato, throw in whatever you like, to taste and you won't go wrong with this. I had garlic bread with it, next time I'll do the cornbread. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
***** Easy recipe and delicious. I served it topped with shredded cheddar cheese and homemade cornbread muffins. It was a HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made this today and it tasted great and the family loved it! It sure hit the spot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had to tweek the receipe so much that it was no longer this receipe. This receipe was very bland and watery. I added a small can of paste, 2 garlic cloves, then I added a harty pinch of onion powder along with a teaspoon of red crushed pepper flackes, 3 TBLS of chili powder, two pinches of salt and 1 teaspoon of black pepper. I also added 1 teaspoon of orgeano. Then after it simmered we ate it Cicinnati style with spagettie, raw onions, loaded with chedder cheese and some hot sauce. My chili is not ultra spicey but we want to taste some spice with our chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
If prepared as the recipe states you will end up with a watery and bland chili. Definitely not worth the rating it's been given. Too many people are rating it high but at the same time adding their own variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Chili I

Watch how easy it is to make a hearty chili in this video.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States