Easy Homemade Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had to tweek the receipe so much that it was no longer this receipe. This receipe was very bland and watery. I added a small can of paste, 2 garlic cloves, then I added a harty pinch of onion powder along with a teaspoon of red crushed pepper flackes, 3 TBLS of chili powder, two pinches of salt and 1 teaspoon of black pepper. I also added 1 teaspoon of orgeano. Then after it simmered we ate it Cicinnati style with spagettie, raw onions, loaded with chedder cheese and some hot sauce. My chili is not ultra spicey but we want to taste some spice with our chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
If prepared as the recipe states you will end up with a watery and bland chili. Definitely not worth the rating it's been given. Too many people are rating it high but at the same time adding their own variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Good as it is but I prefer to use "chili beans" which are pinto beans seasoned with chili flavoring already. You can use dry minced onion instead of fresh and it works too. I like to keep all the non-perishables on hand for a quick and easy meal anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Good base but VERY bland as is. You definitely have to make this your own and build on it. After tasting it as is, I decided to add chopped green peppers, minced fresh jalapeno, increase the chili powder and garlic powder to 2 tsp each. I would also use petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I served the chili with sour cream, cheddar cheese, green onions, sliced fresh jalapenos and my absolute favorite cornbread - Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site. *Added 2 minced garlic cloves and used S&W seasoned Chili beans. Simmer longer. Very good with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was the tastiest chili I have ever made - but I added some things: half a red bell pepper, chopped; half a green bell pepper, chopped; one jalapeno pepper, chopped; 10 oz. of frozen yellow corn kernels; one packet of chili mix (in lieu of the chili powder), and extra garlic powder (probably about 1 or 1.5 tsp). I also did one cup of beef broth plus 1/2 cup water, instead of 1.5 cups water. I served with corn muffins, cheddar jack cheese, and saltines. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Vale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
excellent reciept! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
easy easy! add some hot sauce and cheese cubes at the end and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Such a good basic chili! Works as a great template to play around with too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truebluekat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Really enjoyed this simple dish. Just added more chili powder and geen peppers joey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I've been making this recipe for a while now and just have to say it is so good!! I have had many different kinds of chili and I wouldn't dare criticize this one based on another recipe. It is either good or not, you would either eat it or not, period. I think if you are looking for fast and easy and not a lot of ingredients then this is a great choice. You can leave it as is or if you wanted to you could dress it up even more. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tobi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moyers, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States