Easy Herb Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This makes the yummiest, really moist and tender (as in falling off the bone, literally; if you need your turkey to be pretty, keep a sharp eye out) Thanksgiving bird. Definitely make gravy from the herb-y, flavorful drippings - it completely kicks you-know-what, too. Can't say enough good things about this one. I used softened butter, which is tasty and easier to handle, and put most of the mixture under the skin. My roaster doesn't have a lid, so I tightly covered with foil; it worked just fine. In other words, you can't go wrong! **Added later: well, I've made this several more times in different ways - In the oven with a turkey bag, in a countertop roaster, all olive oil instead of butter, sprinkling generously with paprika after pouring on the herbs (to enhance browning - but don't baste or the "fake tan" will wash off!)... turns out great every time. Made Thanksgiving lunch this year ('07) for 50+ people at work, including this turkey, and it was rave reviews all around! ** Added '08: I've made this about six times now, so I've decided that this is the magic combo: use olive oil as written; use most of the mixture under the skin with just enough outside for pretty; don't use an oven bag; after the herbs are poured on, add a generous coating of Paprika and skip the basting (don't need it anyway!). Cooked again for work - well before noon at least 10 people had walked up to me with shiny fingers and half-full mouths, saying "that turkey is so GOOOD!". 'Nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I've used this recipe for two years now - it is fabulous! The only things I changed were cooking it in a turkey bag and preparing the spices a little differently. I mix them in a softened whole stick of butter, smear it all in a small plastic bag, roll it up, then refrigerate (a la Sandra Lee). Once firm, I slice it and put the pats under the skin and in the cavity of the bird. My turkeys were always, always dry before I found this recipe; now they get rave reviews. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Okay, listen good and hard. This turkey recipe is the *BEST* turkey recipe on the planet. EVERYONE loved it including the kids! Just as others mentioned, you do need to take the solution and put under the skin of the turkey between the skin and the meat - right on top of the meat and the outside of the skin as well. I also doubled the solution as to have more rub for my large turkey. P.S. I added about 3 tbs of butter and mixed into the mixture to give an additional buttery flavor. If you think I'm wrong about this -- let me tell you what a 10 year old told me after eating my turkey *LEFTOVERS* -- "This turkey is better than my momma's... her's is dry." Isn't that sweet? This is the juciest turkey recipe you will ever try, I promise. And the flavor is out of this world. Thank you whoever invented it! It will be my turkey recipe for every Thanksgiving and Christmas from now until eternity! Brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was so easy, no basting! And it was very moist. However, the skin did not brown under the tin foil, so next time, I wil take the tin foil off about an hour before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Loved this! Silly me, I thought I needed to double the recipe because I was using a bigger turkey big mistake! In the end I wasted a lot of olive oil and spices. My advice is to use the measurements as directed no matter what the size of your turkey is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My first time making turkey and everyone at the dinner party was amazed. Things like "the moistest turkey ever" "delicious" "oh my god, are you sure you made this yourself?"... I had a 12lb turkey, lightly stuffed w/ italian sausage stuffing, coated in the herb ingredients.. cooked breast side up for 2 hours (covered), then breast down (uncovered) for another 2 hours. Oh - I used 1/2c olive oil, 1/4c melted butter. I didn't even baste it once! Crispy, browned, juicy. I can't say enough good things!!! Update: cooked it again for a "Trial Run" dinner.. fantastic. Followed exactly as I did it last time - just be careful flipping the bird, its hot and if your hands slip, you lose some of the golden skin. Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My first turkey and it came out wonderfully. Used 1/2 oil and butter, and used a can of chicken stock with garlic (14 oz) instead of the water. Injected the turkey with the garlic chicken stock as well, and added a whole onion and a whole garlic bulb to the cavity. For my 13 lb turkey, cooked at 325 with a foil tent for 2.5 hours, then removed the foil and upped to 350 for 1.25 hours. PERFECTION! My family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was my first turkey and it was so easy. The meat was moist and tender. The meat was falling off the bone. I have never had moist white meat at anyone else's house, so this recipe must be good. I did a 14 pound turkey stuffed with cranberry, sausage, and apple stuffing from this site. It took only 3 1/2 hours to cook. The only thing I changed was instead of olive oil, I melted 1/2 cup of unsalted butter and added all the spices. I used a brush to apply everything as stated. I poured 2 cups of chicken stock into the bottom of the roasting pan. I left the turkey UNCOVERED and basted it every 1/2 hour which gave it a rich brown color. This recipe is a definite keeper. No more dry meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Wow! What a great turkey we had at my house today for Thanksgiving. This turkey (10lbs) was just perfect!! Nice and moist and flavorful. I cooked it for 21/2 hours. I covered it during cooking with foil,then removed it for the last 45 minutes for browning. I also put two bay leaves under the skin. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Made this for our own Thanksgiving dinner...and it was amazing. I did have to roast it a little bit longer than the recipe called for (but I think that it was because of my oven, not the recipe). It was so moist and the seasonings were just perfect. I will definately be making this one again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States