Easy Herb Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was my first time doing a turkey and I was a lil nervous about me having the great idea of hosting Thanksgiving at my house. Everyone LOVED it, my friend was carving it and the bone she was holding came out!ha...which was a GREAT sign:). My hubby who is a vegetarian said to me "man, it looks and smells so good I might have some"! and he did and he loved it:) Anyway followed other ppls tip about the broth instead of water, put the mix under the skin also...I will use this again, they already volunteered me for next years turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. This was my first year cooking the turkey and my mother-in-law, who always cooks the turkey every year raved up and down about the turkey. She told me that it was the moistest turkey and it had the best flavor she's ever tried! Everyone gave it 5 stars even my pickiest child loved it! I baked the turkey with onions in the cavity instead of stuffing mix. My turkey was 24-1/2 lbs so I doubled the recipe. Love this recipe thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We were running low on Olive Oil and had to use butter instead. We also put the mixture under the skin and on top and it turned out great! Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
First turkey I ever tried to roast and it was a grade A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I will be using this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was my first Thanksgiving to host and I was a bit nervous about the turkey getting too dry. But this recipe plus a few other tips from other people made it easy. I used butter instead of olive oil, and stuffed the inside of the turkey with onions, celery, and carrots. It turned out moist and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Tried this recipe this year and it turned out great. I did use homemade turkey broth instead of water, and as others suggested, lifted the breast skin to spread the oil/herb mixture. I did prepare the turkey the night before which allowed the meat to get marinated with the oil mixture. The next morning I rebasted the turkey and discovered that it was much easier to baste, now that the oil/herb mixture was refrigerated. The night before, the mixture just seemed to slide down. However, when it was cold, it really spread so much easier and stuck to the skin better. My suggestion is to make the oil/herb mixture the day before. I also suggest adding paprika to the mix and increasing the quantity of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Delicious! The turkey was moist and flavorful. Followed the recipe as written. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used this recipe for my first ever Thanksgiving Turkey and it was great! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was my 1st-ever turkey & it turned out really great!!! The white meat was a tiny bit dry, but that was completely my fault - got preoccupied with some finicky sweet potatoes and left it in the oven sans foil for longer than I'd intended. I did follow other reviews by removing the foil (don't have a lid) for the last 30-45 minutes of cooking, using chicken broth instead of water, stuffing with onions/minced garlic, and sprinkling generously with paprika for extra color. This will be my base turkey recipe for years to come!!! Only thing I'd do differently next time would be not leaving it in too long, and using less oil & more herbs in the rub mix. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nesbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States