Easy Herb Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
LIKE OMG. I cannot believe how good this turned out. This was my first time cooking a turkey, and I was really anxious about it, but it turned out incredibly juicy and flavorful. I liked the taste of this turkey more than ANY other turkey I've ever had. I'm keeping this and passing it on. Dear recipe submitter, you are a heroine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I used melted butter instead of EVOO and chicken broth instead of water. I also added onion powder. Because I do not have a roasting pan with a lid, I used a roasting pan and foil. This made for a moist bird and a flavorful gravy. We would use this again but I don't think we would use basil again and maybe use poultry seasoning instead of plain sage. THAT IS NOT A REFLECTION ON THE RECIPE, just personal preference. As is, this would be excellent for roast turkey, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe makes a tasty bird. But.....not a beautiful centerpiece. I love how flavorfull the addition of the herbs are and what I love most was the absence of butter. The olive oil browned the bird beautifully even uncovered ( I never needed to remove the lid to brown the turkey). I used garlic salt instead of powder and omitted the regular salt. I also rubbed the oil/seasoning under the skin. My complaints are; there was soooo much liquid that the wings were fully submerged and therefore never browed. It was if they were boiled. And.....the turkey just completely fell apart when trying to move it to a platter. I guess I really would only would care about this if I needed a very pretty "company" turkey centerpiece. Overall, great tasting, super easy recipe. I recommend cutting the liquid by at least half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amzjl
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
It's sooooooo delicious!! But do add butter on and under skin I cooked mine in a bag but first I put in the oven at 500 for 20 minutes without the bag then put it in the bag cooked it for 3 hours at 325 it was a 13lb turkey! Came out perfect! Took it out at an internal temperature of 170 and covered for 30minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turkey had a nice flavor, it was soft and juicy. Literally falling off the bone. I did double the ingredients only because we like flavorful meat. I did use a turkey bag and opened it to give bird color. Very good, everyone enjoyed it. will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Our turkey ended up tasting boiled, had a jelly like texture and had zero crispness to the skin. Awful! I will never use this again. I even drained the liquid off the turkey 1 hour before carving; the skin still didn't brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times and it's perfect. The meat is so tender it just falls off the bone! Makes carving easy! The taste is wonderful and the gravy you can make with the drippings is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie J. O'Hara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney LS
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Thanksgiving 2013 was the first time I ever attempted to cook a turkey. I used this recipe, and the turkey came out great. There were no issues with the turkey being dry or under seasoned. This recipe took the fear out of the task. The directions don't mention this, but I would suggest that you start off cooking the turkey breast down first. I turned the turkey over during the last 30 minutes of cooking to brown. My family generally doesn't eat turkey for the holiday, but this recipe made it a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney LS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Every year for Thanksgiving I make at least 3 very large turkeys (25 lbs+) and this is always the recipe I turn to. With this I know I can just set it and forget it, and it comes out so moist and flavorful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Like all the above people I had my first 12 pounder and was worried about the messing up thanks giving I followed this recipe and I impressed myself Iv never had a better Turkey and every one else was actually silent for a moment which is that highest compliment in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandt Corby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States