Easy Herb Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very nice flavor, which I’m convinced is largely because of the dried minced onion which I made a point to use, even tho’ I did make a couple of other small changes to the recipe. I added a dab of butter to the rice as it cooked, using beef broth rather than water and bouillon. Because I used fresh rather than dried herbs (including oregano rather than marjoram which is an acceptable substitute) I held off adding them until just before serving to preserve their vibrant color. Strictly for the punch of color I also added a handful of peas at the same time. I found this needed no salt, but did give it several turns of fresh ground pepper. As the first reviewer of this recipe I'm pleased to say we enjoyed this simple and humble rice side dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
am now just cooking this and it smells so good. But of course I had to use a bit (1/4 c ish) of beef broth as I had no granules. Minced onion...nope..used dried chives 2 tsp why not? Taste test revealed 1/2 tsp salt next time but seriously delish..this will freeze well to be a second meal with pork chop or fish..tonight chicken breast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a lot and it is a family favorite around here. It is super filling and really, really tasty with a low calorie rating of only 229 cals per serving! Not too mention it is super healthy. I added black beans and mushrooms to my recipe to add a little bit more texture in the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I usually use chicken broth, but it was very good with the beef flavor. The dried onions were a nice touch, too. Also added a little butter and a handful of peas. Just noticed I forgot the rosemary, which I'm sure would make it even better. Thanks for the delicious and very easy recipe, Tina! I'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
i made this for bf since i'm trying to diet and he really liked it.. i tried it and thought it needed more bouillon but loved the herbs in this.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This kind of dish can also be prepared using barley in place of rice. I, too, use low sodium beef, veggie or chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, as it's less salty. In place of butter, I add a generous dollop of garlic oil (homemade with 1/2 evoo and 1/2 canola with 3-4 crushed cloves of garlic in the bottled oil, and kept in the fridge). This oil adds a very mild hint of garlic, and helps to keep the rice (or barley) from getting sticky. If the dish is still too dry for your taste, you can add 1/8-1/4 cup of broth to the mix until it gets to the consistency you like. Just add the liquid in small increments. FYI ~ There are some very good combos (often trios) of grains packaged in the markets. I like brown rice, wild rice and barley in combo, and often add curry powder to taste for seasoning. Don't be afraid to experiment, as these grains are very forgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy recipe. A nice change from plain rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very easy to make with what you have on hand at home, but nothing memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried the recipe just as-is. It tasted great, but was kind of dry. Any suggestions on how to moisten it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States