Easy Haupia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Used arrowroot instead of cornstarch and used half coconut sugar and half white sugar for the white sugar. It was yummy. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Persis
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make and so tasty! I served the Haupia on a no-bake Amaretti cookie crust with roasted coconut flakes and fresh strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Although I enjoyed this dessert, none of my guests liked it. My mom barely got one bite down, as she didn't like the taste. My dad liked the taste, but said he didn't like the jello-like texture. My sister-in-law seemed to like it, but gave the disclaimer that a person would have to REALLY like coconut to enjoy it. I had guests all weekend, and no one went back for seconds on this. It definately is not a crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Tasted just like the real thing. Love, love, loved the recipe and was surprised by how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I stayed with friends in Hawaii recently and got to try this amazing dessert!! I live in Colorado so finding good coconut milk is impossible! So instead i added coconut extract to soy milk. The flavor was really good, but it didnt't quit set up like it should. It was more like a pudding but still delish! It also took about 3 times longer to thicken up than the recipe says. But its a deliciuous healthy dessert! Colorado Haupia!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I cooked this beyond the 5 minutes because it was not getting thick enough. I cooked aprox 9 minutes. I sprinkled coconut and put it in the fridge to get hard. It never got hard. I have no clue what I did wrong, especially considering I cooked it even longer than reccomended. I'm very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
People loved this, and ate half the pan before I could set it out for the luau for my friend's birthday. Definitely like the stuff I've had in Hawai'i.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
i thought this was pretty close to the haupia you get in hawaii (i lived there for a few years so i wouldn't claim "local" knowledge but i've had it plenty before). i did have trouble getting it to set up but it's possible the pan i used made it too thick. didn't stop me or the kids from scooping it out with spoons and killing it in record time. next time i'll try a bigger pan and see if that helps. great way to use up that can of coconut milk when a recipe calls for a measly 1/2 cup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Since leaving my childhood home 20 years ago, I have frequently yearned for my favorite desert, haupia. When visiting family in Hawai'i, I am on a constant search for the wiggly, creamy goodness found in this coconut treat. When I decided to do a mini Hawaiian feast last night, I knew I had to include haupia...I found this recipe, tried it out and OMG I'm so thrilled! The flavor is spot on, the texture perfect. I'm in heaven! BTW, the quality of the coconut milk you use makes all the difference. If it doesn't taste awesome out of the can, it's not going to taste good in haupia. I've tried no less than 10-15 different brands and have only found one that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my longest review ever... Sorry! I've never had haupia but I had a can of coconut milk in the pantry and this looked like a simple recipe. Upon reading the previous comments, I decided to change up the order just a little. To get a good texture, instead of mixing all of the ingredients in the pot, I separated out 1/2 cup of room-temp coconut milk and whisked in the cornstarch until it was dissolved. In the pot I put the rest of the coconut milk, sugar, and salt and heated it up until the salt and sugar were dissolved, then stirred in the cornstarch mixture. I cooked it at a higher temp (med to med-high) because nothing happened at a low temp (maybe because pot is heavier or because I have a glass cooktop?) I made sure to keep stirring it the whole time so it wouldn't burn, and let it cook until it was pretty thick, to avoid the raw-cornstarch flavor one reviewer mentioned. I sprayed a glass baking dish very lightly with cooking spray (possibly unnecessary) and poured in the mixture. Off to the fridge it went and jsut now I flipped it onto a seving dish. It sliced it into squares easily and had a great taste. It could be sweeter and/or more coconutty, for more of a desserty feel, but it is great and I will be taking it to dinner this evening at the house of a friend whose son is allergic to milk and gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States