Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
very good ecipe but I substituted prepared poppyseed mix for the apricot filling....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I've always had trouble with an all-oil based dough, so I substituted a stick of butter for 1/2 cup of the oil, and beat it with the sugar before adding the eggs. Then I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. Two tablespoons of preserves ran out of the hamantaschen; 1 tablespoon is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
we used this recipe to make hamantaschen with a group of older adults...it was wonderful! easy to make, rolled out well, and tasted good. the favorite fillings were apricot jam and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND FOUND IT TO BE A SIMPLE ONE BUT A BIT MESSY TO WORK WITH MY MIXER. THE STIFF BATTER WAS HARD TO BEAT AND KEPT CLOGGING UP THE BEATERS, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE TROUBLE. THEY TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY AND WERE DELICIOUS! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME LEMON ZEST TO THE BATTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Not hard to make and very good. I had to make a cookie with orange marmalade for a class project and so I thought of the cookies Grandma always has. These were perfect and my classmates Loved them. Note: Pinch those corners tight if you're using a thin filling! But I got to eat all the ugly ones, so it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Not at all messy to make if you have a mixer with dough beaters. Very tasty not to sweet. A beautiful cookie and texture. All though I wasn't a big fan of the folding method. I cut out my cookie shapes at an eigth of an inch thickness and sandwiched the jam. Then lightly poked two fork pricks on top. Much neater that way, can use more jam, and not an ugly cookie in the batch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was a disaster. I followed it exactly, but ended up with dough that was sticky but thick, and refused to roll flat. Every time I cut out a circular piece it would shrink up. The cookies would not stay closed. The cookies tasted ok when baked, but they were messy and ugly and on the bland side. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This is a very good recipe, the dough was perfect. I recommend brushing them with egg just before putting them in the oven and baking them at 400 instead, then they look nice and shiny and browned. I also got more like 35 cookies from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIRSTIN243
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent cookie. Good texture, good shape hold, and without a bitter after taste that many hamantaschen recipes have.I would not recommend refridgerating the dough though. Dough should be used immediately after making. If one delays, some extra egg & water solution should be used to seal seams before baking, as the seams will rupture and spill goo everywhere if they aren't sealed. Use good quality jam and avoid using jellies as they tend to leak more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
An excellent recipe; dough is so easy to work and perfect in consistency and flavor. I like to vary the fillings for a colorful and varied presentation. alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States