Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I've always had trouble with an all-oil based dough, so I substituted a stick of butter for 1/2 cup of the oil, and beat it with the sugar before adding the eggs. Then I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. Two tablespoons of preserves ran out of the hamantaschen; 1 tablespoon is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIRSTIN243
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent cookie. Good texture, good shape hold, and without a bitter after taste that many hamantaschen recipes have.I would not recommend refridgerating the dough though. Dough should be used immediately after making. If one delays, some extra egg & water solution should be used to seal seams before baking, as the seams will rupture and spill goo everywhere if they aren't sealed. Use good quality jam and avoid using jellies as they tend to leak more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
How to make this perfect: as another reviewer suggested, replace 1/2 c of oil with a stick of butter and whip with sugar before adding eggs. I also added a tsp of orange zest, used 4 1/2 c flour mixed with the baking powder, and held aside the 5th cup of flour to add as needed. I ended up using about 5 c total. Mix one egg with a Tbsp of milk, and using finger, moisten the outer edges of each circle before filling and pinching. I had no leaking casualties at all. I used to make these with my mother when I was little, and she was smiling from Heaven when I made this recipe. It is absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ngood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This is a very good recipe, the dough was perfect. I recommend brushing them with egg just before putting them in the oven and baking them at 400 instead, then they look nice and shiny and browned. I also got more like 35 cookies from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
we used this recipe to make hamantaschen with a group of older adults...it was wonderful! easy to make, rolled out well, and tasted good. the favorite fillings were apricot jam and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
As an incredibly inexperienced baker, I found this recipe reasonably simple and very tasty. With the first batch I made the mistake of not rolling the dough thin enough. The taste wasn't impacted, but they didn't hold their shape. The second batch turned out with a better triangle shape. When I make these again I won't add the flour all at once, seeing as I probably added another cup while I was rolling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great! For those having issues with dough texture due to the oil, substitute butter for the oil and milk for the OJ. The oil and OJ are used to make the cookies pareve (meaning they contain no meat or dairy and can therefore be consumed with other meat and/or dairy foods according to Jewish law.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND FOUND IT TO BE A SIMPLE ONE BUT A BIT MESSY TO WORK WITH MY MIXER. THE STIFF BATTER WAS HARD TO BEAT AND KEPT CLOGGING UP THE BEATERS, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE TROUBLE. THEY TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY AND WERE DELICIOUS! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME LEMON ZEST TO THE BATTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROKEY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Great recipe. Tips: use wax paper to roll it out, it can be a little sticky, but that's ok. I made my cookies too big and even though I keep adjusting after each batch I would of liked smaller cookies, so I suggest smaller cookies as they will swell a lot in the oven. Don't worry about putting them too close together on the cookie sheet because after you pinch them into eyes they have plenty of room next to each other. Make the most of your first rolling out because each subsequent rolling out will produce more inferior cookies than the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
As do others here, I have problems with oil-based dough. Thusly, I used 1 stick of butter (chilled & cubed) and 4 oz. light cream cheese (chilled & cubed) and made in my food processor. I let the dough rest for 2 hrs. in the fridge before filling (I used seedless black raspberry preserves and orange marmalad). I baked them at 360 degrees for exactly 14 minutes. The resulting cookies tasted great, if not perfectly formed (this shiksa's first attempt at making hamantaschen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States