Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My first attempt at these cookies and everything went great except I think I overfilled the cookies thus making them fall open and not look very triangular. They still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
As an incredibly inexperienced baker, I found this recipe reasonably simple and very tasty. With the first batch I made the mistake of not rolling the dough thin enough. The taste wasn't impacted, but they didn't hold their shape. The second batch turned out with a better triangle shape. When I make these again I won't add the flour all at once, seeing as I probably added another cup while I was rolling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Loved this recipe. I made it twice it was so yummy. I suggest holding back a little on the flour because by the time you flour the surface you use to roll the dough...you will have added quite a bit more flour to the recipe and it makes it more difficult for the edges to stay pinched together. I also wouldn't refigerate the dough...I don't think the piched corners would stay together as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
An excellent recipe; dough is so easy to work and perfect in consistency and flavor. I like to vary the fillings for a colorful and varied presentation. alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIRSTIN243
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent cookie. Good texture, good shape hold, and without a bitter after taste that many hamantaschen recipes have.I would not recommend refridgerating the dough though. Dough should be used immediately after making. If one delays, some extra egg & water solution should be used to seal seams before baking, as the seams will rupture and spill goo everywhere if they aren't sealed. Use good quality jam and avoid using jellies as they tend to leak more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This is a very good recipe, the dough was perfect. I recommend brushing them with egg just before putting them in the oven and baking them at 400 instead, then they look nice and shiny and browned. I also got more like 35 cookies from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was a disaster. I followed it exactly, but ended up with dough that was sticky but thick, and refused to roll flat. Every time I cut out a circular piece it would shrink up. The cookies would not stay closed. The cookies tasted ok when baked, but they were messy and ugly and on the bland side. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Not at all messy to make if you have a mixer with dough beaters. Very tasty not to sweet. A beautiful cookie and texture. All though I wasn't a big fan of the folding method. I cut out my cookie shapes at an eigth of an inch thickness and sandwiched the jam. Then lightly poked two fork pricks on top. Much neater that way, can use more jam, and not an ugly cookie in the batch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Not hard to make and very good. I had to make a cookie with orange marmalade for a class project and so I thought of the cookies Grandma always has. These were perfect and my classmates Loved them. Note: Pinch those corners tight if you're using a thin filling! But I got to eat all the ugly ones, so it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND FOUND IT TO BE A SIMPLE ONE BUT A BIT MESSY TO WORK WITH MY MIXER. THE STIFF BATTER WAS HARD TO BEAT AND KEPT CLOGGING UP THE BEATERS, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE TROUBLE. THEY TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY AND WERE DELICIOUS! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME LEMON ZEST TO THE BATTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States