Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
5.5 cups of flour was way too much. Dough was so crumbly I could hardly roll it. All of the hamentashen fell apart and the dough was tasteless. Would at minimum reduce flour to 4 cups and add more as necessary. But next time I'll look for a recipe that calls for butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Reduce oil to 1/2 cup. Add a little almond extract. Refrigerate for a few hours or overnight before rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mincooks
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a nice recipe. Dough really easy to work with. I did what others suggested and put the dough in the fridge for a little while first. We did make way more than 24 cookies. I filled them with homemade apricot and prune filling and also Nutella and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mincooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I'm a fairly decent baker. I found this recipe to be easy but the directions were not that great. The cookie tastes yummy (got my 3 year's old approval!) but was a mess. I substituted the oil for butter, used milk instead of OJ and used 4.5 cups flour. After doing a little research, I found the key to making this: oven has to be 400 degrees to get it a little toasty, roll dough to 1/8 in and roll again to stretch it after you "cut into circles", only 1 tsp of preserves, and instead of pinching corners, fold and tuck. Unfortunately, I figured this out on my very last cookie which came out beautiful and perfect. I will be starting over and making a new batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have never made hamentashen before. This turned out great. I made 2/3 the recipe (used the function to adjust the portions, for 16 cookies) and it was just right amount for us. I wanted a tiny bit of nutrition in there so I substituted in about 1/2 cup of golden ground flax, can hardly tell at all. I think mine were a bit on the bigger side, and I had to add a few minutes to the cooking time. They kept their shape, easy to do, tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe was a disaster! The cookies totally fell apart while cookie. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Good dough, especially when still warm. I made the recipe vegan by substituting the three eggs for three tablespoons milled flax gelled in 9 tablespoons water. This reduced the needed flour by about a half cup. Yield was more like 3 doz 1.5" rounds. Had to compensate for dryness by the third batch by rubbing surface of flattened dough with vegetable oil, and moistening pinching corners with water on inside seam of pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Really not a great recipe....the dough needs salt, and it is just bland! Plus I had to keep it in the over for more like 17 minutes...they were too dough-y otherwise...like eating raw flour. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
As do others here, I have problems with oil-based dough. Thusly, I used 1 stick of butter (chilled & cubed) and 4 oz. light cream cheese (chilled & cubed) and made in my food processor. I let the dough rest for 2 hrs. in the fridge before filling (I used seedless black raspberry preserves and orange marmalad). I baked them at 360 degrees for exactly 14 minutes. The resulting cookies tasted great, if not perfectly formed (this shiksa's first attempt at making hamantaschen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lowcal-cook
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have made them 2 years in a row and I give them out as Mishloach Manot and people always love them!! If you are a novice baker, try this recipe. You won't be disappointed. I used 4.5 cups of flour and when rolling out the dough used the other 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowcal-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States