Easy Ham and Swiss Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is pretty good, and pretty easy, but I have to agree with the comments that there is a bit too little liquid. I adjusted this to make it more like a quiche because I didn't have all the meat and cheese called for--just had crumbled bacon and American Cheese, so I wouldn't have had enough to do this as written with the mix poured on top. However, having said that, I think it would work well with sliced cooked bacon lining the dish as well--I might try that next time, as that is something I'm more likely to have in the house as opposed to all those meats and cheeses. I added another egg and about a 1/2 cup water, then mixed everything together. I did add frozen chopped spinach to the mixture and it baked up well--needed about 10 extra minutes to cook totally. It was eaten at a breakfast I brought it to, but it did take longer to disappear than the other casserole I brought. To be fair, we did have a lot of other food and maybe I scared people with the spinach. ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
A little dry but great flavor- i added tomatoes and mushrooms and had to also add an egg with an extra 1/2 c. of "baking mix" to make enough mixture to cover the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I add at least 1 cup whipping cream for richness and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is the best egg-bake I have ever made! It was so light and fluffy when it came out of the oven! The only thing I changed was I added 2 more cups of crushed corn flakes, with 3/4 cup melted butter, it just gave it a little more crunch on top!! It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
steve likes, kinda dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Definitely missing a liquid ingredient--egg/bisquick mix doesn't pour; it's too thick so just sits on top of the other ingredients, and yes, you do need a smaller pan if you want the unexpected biscuit topping to cover all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
We have updated the cook time in this recipe to 25 minutes, as requested by the submitter. This should help! - The Staff@Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
There was a mistake with this recipe. It should've read Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. This was submitted correctly, so it was NOT the fault of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this and thought it was too dry. I wonder if one of the liquid ingredients was left out. It also cooked in about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I had cut the recipe down to fit a 10x10 square pan. I found it only took 25 minutes to bake then. This tasted drier then I expected it to be, so first I put catsup on to eat it, didn't like that, so used maple syrup and that made it better. I would not make it again. Way too much fat in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Ziegler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States