Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This recipe is always a hit, no matter where I take it! Everybody loves the savory flavors of ham, onions, mustard and swiss on dinner rolls. A number one in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I made this for my daughter's high school basketball team one day when they had back-to-back games late in the afternoon. To say they went over well doesn't even begin to describe the hit this made. They were gone as fast as I could hand them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I think that these are wonderful, but I used cheddar instead and I also substitute yellow mustard for dijon. These are akways a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
The recipe had gotten good reviews so I thought I'd try it, and boy was that a mistake. I love onions, but they just did not go with this. Mini sandwiches on rolls isn't a bad idea but that sauce is no good. I made these just like the recipe calls for and after a couple of bites, everyone turned their nose up at these including me. I really think kids would hate these. Unless you're adventuresome and willing to waste food, don't try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
TYPO.......use CHIPPED COOKED HAM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I read the reviews and couldn't believe that Katie did not like these! One word describing these sandwiches? Fabulous! I use my Black and Decker Handy Chopper to practically puree the onions - they blend in beautifully with the butter sauce this way. (I think that I, like Katie, might not have liked the sauce if it had onion "chunks" mixed in with the other ingredients. As a matter of fact, my husband and I don't even keep onions in the house. We're not onion people!) As for the rolls, I use King's Hawaiian rolls - regular or multigrain. These rolls add a touch of sweetness that everyone enjoys, and they go well with the ingredients. I have made these on several occasions and they have disappeared quickly each time. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
My sister used to make these for all of our family functions, but has since became vegan and couldn't find the detailed recipe. Thanks - they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
These are absolutely delicious! Easy to make, and an excellent snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I actually got this recipe from my mom who received it from a lady at her church and it continues to be passed on from there! These are sooooo goood!! I made these last week and served with 6 can tortilla soup! WOW! However, I had no idea this recipe was also on this site or I would have made these sooner. My version is a TAD different: For 12 hoagie rolls = 1 cup soft butter, 8 TBLS mustard, 6 TBLS finely diced onion, and 1 to 1 1/2 TBLS poppyseeds (no worchestir sauce). Generously spread the butter/mustard mix on the bottom, layer with ham and cheese (we used colby jack & swiss slices) replace top and then spread a small amout on the top of each bun. Bake and enjoy these! I feel bad for the people who tried these and they didn't turn out because these are delicious and everyone I have served them too agrees! A great meal! Thanks Doreen (and mom my's church friend)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I made these to take to a gathering with friends where soup was the main course and these little sandwiches were the perfect side. They went in a flash! I will definitely make these again. They were quick enough to make after work and before the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States