Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These are great and so simple to make. I change some things just for personal preference. I use Honey-Dijon mustard, omit the onion for onion powder, and Kings Sweet Hawaiian Rolls. I usually make 48 at a time, so I cut them before baking them on cookie sheets covered with foil. Then wrap them to keep them warm. Everyone at our church requests these for our Women's Meetings, Dinners, and any other occasions. I also make some with Roast Beef, Cheddar, on Butter Rolls. Thanks for an amazing recipe that I will use time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by partyof8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love these and have been making them for years. This time I used the potato rolls! They were gone in no time. Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
You know....these are wonderful! I've made these a few times myself. Few things I do different are that I use sliced deli ham, sliced cheese (I prefer provolone but any cheese will do) and I use the King's Hawaiian bread rolls (really good if you like the sweetness of the bread). I also prefer regular mustard over Dijon but mainly cause it's what's in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyel Dille Casselman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I omitted the onion in the topping, but otherwise followed the recipe. I knew my ham and cheese loving husband would like these, but my kids were fighting him for seconds and thirds. Needless to say, these were very popular, and considering how easy they were, I will be making these on a regular basis. This was a quick, easy way to feed everyone a weekend lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow this recipe was great. I made these sandwiches for a super bowl party and they were a huge hit. I used potato rolls and brown sugar ham. After putting down a layer of ham and swiss cheese I added another layer of ham, I also coated the top of the rolls with the leftover butter mixture. The only complaint was I didnt make enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very easy, and very good! I was worried about the bottoms being soggy, but I wrapped them in foil and the bottoms actually were crisp. I did puree my onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked these, but they got mixed reviews at our Superbowl party. I had honey dijon mustard in my fridge, so that's what I used. I also didn't have the poppy seeds. I used Hawaiian sweet rolls and sliced swiss in stead of shredded. I thought they were really good, but my hubby (who likes everything) wasn't crazy about them. Four others thought they were good, though. I only give 4 stars b/c of the mixed reviews at our house tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good! Very kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My mom made these, too, so we've had the recipe in our family for years. I make them for dinner, and my family gobbles the up (even my picky 7 year-old daughter). The best rolls to use are the King's Hawaiian rolls. The sweetness in the rolls is a perfect match for this savory treat! I also chop the ham, but leave the Swiss cheese in slices. I just lay them on top of the chopped ham. I also loosely cover them w/ foil while baking. It helps get everying melted w/o drying out the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that was close to the ham & cheese rolls we have every Christmas morning and these came real close. I plan on making these again just reducing the amount of poppy seeds to only 1 tbsp and add more onion. I don't think I put enough onion in the first time around. Also add more mustard. My fiance agrees with me on the adjustments since its his family that makes these and I think they are good just some adjustments needed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States