Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Growing up my Mom made these sandwiches by the dozen and served them in large parties. We would make them up ahead of time (assembly line fashion). Wrap them tightly in tin foil and then secure them in plastic bags. We would put the whole bag in the freezer (for up to two weeks). - Then on the night of the party we would thaw the sandwiches (still in tin foil) and then bake in the foil as directed. By keeping them in the foil we could serve them in a basket and the sandwiches would stay warm. Sometimes we would make as much as 20 dozen for large parties. They are great to bring to picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I read the reviews and couldn't believe that Katie did not like these! One word describing these sandwiches? Fabulous! I use my Black and Decker Handy Chopper to practically puree the onions - they blend in beautifully with the butter sauce this way. (I think that I, like Katie, might not have liked the sauce if it had onion "chunks" mixed in with the other ingredients. As a matter of fact, my husband and I don't even keep onions in the house. We're not onion people!) As for the rolls, I use King's Hawaiian rolls - regular or multigrain. These rolls add a touch of sweetness that everyone enjoys, and they go well with the ingredients. I have made these on several occasions and they have disappeared quickly each time. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I actually got this recipe from my mom who received it from a lady at her church and it continues to be passed on from there! These are sooooo goood!! I made these last week and served with 6 can tortilla soup! WOW! However, I had no idea this recipe was also on this site or I would have made these sooner. My version is a TAD different: For 12 hoagie rolls = 1 cup soft butter, 8 TBLS mustard, 6 TBLS finely diced onion, and 1 to 1 1/2 TBLS poppyseeds (no worchestir sauce). Generously spread the butter/mustard mix on the bottom, layer with ham and cheese (we used colby jack & swiss slices) replace top and then spread a small amout on the top of each bun. Bake and enjoy these! I feel bad for the people who tried these and they didn't turn out because these are delicious and everyone I have served them too agrees! A great meal! Thanks Doreen (and mom my's church friend)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These are a favorite around my house and definately a hit when taken to a party too! I get asked fo rht erecipe all the time. I use the mini dinner rolls - the ones that have like 24 in a pack. You can take them out, slice off all the "lids" at one time, add the stuff in the middle and replace the lid. THEN cut with a sharp knife to seperate rolls either before or after baking so they come out easily with the melted cheese. I also just use the aluminum tray that they come in to bake when I'm taking to a party. EASY and DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
5 stars for good taste & ease of preparation. I used cheese slices (vs. shredded) for ease of use, and Hawaiian rolls as recommended by another reviewer. FYI, I easily made 24 rolls with at least half of the spread (if not more) leftover. Not sure how buttery other users made their rolls (or perhaps their rolls were larger), but I'll make half the spread in the future. The first time I made these, a friend helped me assemble the rolls. She ended up using all the spread for 18 Hawaiian rolls (with the spread way thicker than I would have made it). Still received compliments on it, but the heavy butter made it a bit soggy on the bottom, so keep that in mind. Would also add less poppy seeds (1/2 as much or just eyeball the mixture to preference) -- it's not that recipe calls for too much, but more that it's for texture than taste, and I'd rather save some poppy seeds if it tastes the same! Made great appetizers for a bridal shower and birthday party and received compliments at both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I have to admit, I saw this title and thought who needs a recipe for ham and cheese sandwiches.....apparently, I do! These were great. Based on a prior reviewer's rec, I searched in vain trying to find the dinner rolls (apparently a seasonal item around here)that are in the bread section and you bake them. So, I ended up making then more as sandwich entrees than apps on hoagie type rolls. Delish-I can't wait to make again w/provolone! UPDATE: I just made as "grilled cheese" type sandwiches (quartered the "sauce" recipe for 3 sandwiches) and they were awesome! I spread the sauce on both pieces of bread and layered on the ham & cheese. I buttered the outsides and toasted on a griddle. When they were good and browned, I added lettuce ad tomato. I also have always used yellow, rather than Dijon, mustard per personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
My husband loved these, he asked me to please make them again for sunday football. I actually premade them, and put them on a cookie sheet in the fridge then baked later in the day when we were ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I can't give these 5 stars cause I made changes. HOWEVER, WE ate ALL 12 sandwiches in 10 minutes!!!! After reading reviews and getting some great tips here's what I did. I halved the recipe and used a 12 pack of heat and serve rolls. I sliced tops off the entire pack in one step while the rolls were connected. Lined a 9x13 with foil sprayed with pam (less mess). I had turkey and ham that I made earlier in the week so I made 6 sandwiches with each meat. I added cheddar cheese with the ham. For the turkey I used provolone cheese and ranch dressing. I didn't drizzle the sauce on the top of rolls, but brushed with butter. This is a great snack/appetizer that all ages can really enjoy. If you have the ingredients on hand, try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This is such a great recipe. I usually serve these at parties along with soup. I've gotten so many compliments. The one thing I do differently is: I use shredded swiss and mix a bit of mayo in the cheese to make it stay on the bun. It adds a little tang. And I do wrap them in foil and bake them, that way they stay hot. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I make this recipe all the time. We eat them for lunch or dinner, and they are a hit every time. I use King's Hawaiian Rolls and they stay soft and tasty even warmed up the next day! One of our favs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States