Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I didn't have poppy seeds, swiss cheese, or white party rolls, so I used English muffins and Cheddar and I must say, these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I didn't have swiss so I used white cheddar. This was so yummy and a very filling late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were the hit of my Christmas Eve party. I used 24 small potato rolls, about 1 lb each of shaved ham and roast beef, and about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese but didn't increase the amount of butter mixture. I did as some other reviewers recommended and spread most of the butter mixture on the rolls under the meat. I thought this made them a bit soggy on the bottom but they still tasted great. Next time I will try spreading the butter on top as the recipe recommends. I only used about a tsp of poppy seeds, sprinkling them on top of the rolls after brushing with a bit of the leftover butter. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe is yummy! I have made these sandwiches several times for different occasions and each time they get the thumbs up. There are usually no leftovers and everyone wants me to bring them to the next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These were good but I thought 3 TBSP of poppy seeds was way too much. I used the Hawaiian sweet rolls as suggested by others. I was able to make 4 dozen and still had butter spread left over. Easy to put together, used ham slices and cheese slices and left out the onion. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've tweaked this recipe a little and my family loves it. Reduce to 1/2 cup butter and add 1/2 cup brown sugar to the rest of the ingredients. Mix and spread butter mixture on bottom of glass pan. Make up the sandwiches, place them in the pan and flip them over a few times to coat. Bake for 10 minutes uncovered, flip the sandwiches over and bake another 10 minutes. They turn golden brown and are not soggy. The brown sugar goes well with the swiss cheese and ham. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
It's good but does take slightly longer than it says if you don't know so much of what your doing!! :) But a fun, good, easy pleaser appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
REALLY GOOD and EASY!! I made these for camping. Made them before we left, wrapped in foil. I just popped them in the oven whenever everyone was hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Excellent. Made these for my husband's friends and they all went. I didn't use the poppy seeds though and made roast beef and cheese as well that turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I have to admit, I saw this title and thought who needs a recipe for ham and cheese sandwiches.....apparently, I do! These were great. Based on a prior reviewer's rec, I searched in vain trying to find the dinner rolls (apparently a seasonal item around here)that are in the bread section and you bake them. So, I ended up making then more as sandwich entrees than apps on hoagie type rolls. Delish-I can't wait to make again w/provolone! UPDATE: I just made as "grilled cheese" type sandwiches (quartered the "sauce" recipe for 3 sandwiches) and they were awesome! I spread the sauce on both pieces of bread and layered on the ham & cheese. I buttered the outsides and toasted on a griddle. When they were good and browned, I added lettuce ad tomato. I also have always used yellow, rather than Dijon, mustard per personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States