Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe to prepare for my son's wedding reception. One variation from the way I originally learned it--I melt the butter-mix in the poppy seed, onion, worcestershire and mustard--then use a pastry brush and paint both sides of the rolls(that I cut all together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Followed the directions exactly, and was sure they would be great, but I really hated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Huge hit at the bridal shower yesterday! Made exactly as recipe calls for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Really good. I used the sweet hawaiian rolls and Boar's Head sliced ham and slices of swiss cheese. I set up an assembly line prep after cutting my ham and cheese into roll size squares. Didn't need one whole onion. I used less than half and there was plenty of onion flavor. Really good party food that is a little more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Awsome, great little sandwiches. I did not use the poppy seeds but we enjoyed the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These are great for lunch too. The mustard spread is so flavorful that they are still good without the cheese (for those who can't have dairy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very Yummy recipe! kids like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
They were good, but not great. I made all the spread (using maybe 1/3 cup grated onion), but then used 3/4 of it on the 2 doz dinner rolls. They were still pretty greasy and soggy. My guests ate them but there were no rave reviews and I had leftovers. They're okay, but I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
i made these for my daughter's baby shower. some people arrived early and started eating them cold and saying how good they were. after i heated them the onion was pretty intense but they still all went and i made a lot. i will make these again but will back off the onion by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
When I first saw this recipe, Ham and Cheese Sandwich, I thought "oh come on?!" So, I read it and am so glad that I didn't pass this one by plus all the reviews were great, maybe there is something to this. I thought it seemed a little labor intensive making all these little bitty sandwiches, but I read the reviews and really got into it. I first sliced all the rolls (Hawaiian naturally) in one sweep of the knife horizontally, easy enough, then spread the butter spread on the bottoms. I had thin shaved ham and just kind of draped that all over the bottom so it was well covered, then layered sliced Swiss cheese on top of that. Put the top layer on and spread some of the butter spread on top of the rolls. Put a large piece of foil on a cookie sheet, and put into the freezer so as not to smush the butter and rolls and I let it in their for about 15 minutes. Wrapped in up and put it in the freezer. My second package, did exactly the same thing, but decided I would try spreading some of the butter spread on the inside of the tops. This all took less than 10 minutes. This is great and I was all set for company and all I had to do was pop them in the oven. These are fantastic!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. These are to die for!! A must try and oh so easy to make. For those that thought it was too much onion, it would really depend on the size of your onion. I had a relatively small onion, so I used the whole thing and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States