Easy Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Good Recipe! Rather than the adding the onion & tomato, I use a couple of tablespoons of salsa. I mash the salsa in with the avocado. Add a teaspoon of sour cream at the end for a creamier texture. The sour cream also helps it from turning that ugly green-brown the next day if you have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1800 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I think a helpful hint for this recipe, or any avacado recipe, is that instead of peeling the avacado with a veggie peeler (it can be slippery and difficult, cut it in half length-wise and separate the halves. Then, take a knife and cut down through the inside down to the inside of the skin. criss-cross the cuts to make little squares. You can then easily scrape the avacado chunks out or simply invert the skin so that the inside is pushed outwards. The pieces will just pop out! This works well if you want chunkier guacamole. Reserve some chunks and mash the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This was a yummy recipe!! I love guacamole and never thought I would be able to duplicate or better a popular Mexican restaurants recipe! I added some chopped cilantro, green scallions, a splash of olive oil and a capful of white vinegar ( a trick from the restaurant) Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is the ***BEST*** guacamole recipe! ==> After scouring all suggestions from other reviewers, here's what you can do to make people continue to beg for more: Use only the juice of 1/2 of a lime. Add chopped cilantro, green scallions, a splash of olive oil, a capful of white vinegar, Pace salsa and 1 tbsp sour cream (for creaminess). I haven't bought guac from a store nor eaten it in a restaurant since I started making it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great guacamole recipe! Guacamole is easy to make, and altough it's very simple it's always a matter of taste. When a recipes states one small onion diced I use only 2 Tbsp. of finely chopped red onion for 2 avocados. I de-seeded the tomato (used 1 roma) and added 1/4 tsp. of cumin and 2 cloves of minced garlic from a jar along with the rest of the ingredients. Always delicious served with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Good recipe Denise. I absolutely love Guacamole. This is definitley a good starting point. I like to add a little Pace Picante to mine and mince the onions instead of chopping them. Lime is definitely a must! Sometimes when I'm in a hurry, I'll add some onion flakes or powder instead. Some people say that "real" guacamole has either sour cream or cream cheese. I've never heard of that...but I might add some next time I make this, just to see how it tastes. A word of advice...if you keep the avacado pit in the guacamole..it will help keep it from turning brown as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KSCHAE
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good recipe, I dd however make a few slight modifications. Since we like it spicy I added 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced to the recipe. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, crushed red pepper flakes and used 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1. I also dice the onion instead of mincing to add a chunkier texture to the guacamole. It always turns out absolutely delicious!! I now make this recipe on a regular basis as it is often requested :) Great on tacos, burritos, chicken breasts, hamburgers or to simply just dip with chips for snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Once you start making your own guacamole you'll never buy it again! I have made this many many times but with a couple of changes. I only 1/2 a lime's juice, otherwise I find it too acidic. I don't put in the tomato but I do add extra garlic (at least one extra clove) and a good sized handful of chopped fresh cilantro (makes a huge difference). I also add a tablespoon of sour cream for creaminess and a little drizzzle of olive oil to help preserve it. Leftovers do not keep well but if you make sure your container is absolutely airtight you will get a couple of days before it turns brown. Try this with Black Bean soup or your favorite Tortilla chips-YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Wow! This was so easy! I took others advice and added a pinch of cilantro and cumin and 2tbps of sour cream. It was amazing! I mashed the tomatoes up with the avacados for a creamier texture! Awesome recipe! I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is "way too much onion for 2 avacados!" If adding the lime juice more than a squeeze will make this very tart to. I normally just mash the avacado, with a potato masher, and add a little salt, chopped tomato, cilantro, garlic, and just a tad of onion with a very light squeeze of lime. When I worked at a mexican restaurant that was how they made it to. The avacado taste should not be overwhelmed by the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States