Easy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Very quick and very easy - plus it's right off back of the argo package! I always make this when I do a beef roast. I drain the drippings in a fat separator first. I use the broth from that (no bouillon) and to make it creamy I dissolve the cornstarch in milk instead of water (that's also on the back of the package). My grandma always added a bit of "Gravy Master Sesoning and Browning Sauce" (a nifty little glass jar with a brown and orange package that I always remember from childhood) which gives gravy a really nice flavor and color. Definitely stir constantly with a wire whisk as directed in order to avoid those nasty lumps.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Easy was right. I made chicken breast in the crock pot and used the left over liquid(instead of broth). Put it in the pan heated turned it on medium heat, added the corn starch and H2O. And before I knew it, GRAVY! Will use in the future for all my dinner gravy recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTEDEOCAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Pretty good flavor but I didn't like the way it looked. I just don't like that high gloss look in gravy. Guess I'm just a country girl. I think it looks better and tastes the same or better when using flour instead of corn starch. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I cannot believe I made such delicious gravy! I was really worried about it, but it turned out FANTASTIC! I boiled a ham hock for a couple hours, adding more water as some evaporated, then used the water as the base for this recipe. I added rosemary as suggested for pork. It was served with the Rich Mashed Potatoes and my Christmas ham. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Very quick and easy. I used bacon fat, beef base along with water and corn starch for my gravy. The results were better than the powdered gravy any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Rich, easy and delicious gravy. I made apple butter pork tenderloins in the slow cooker and drained the broth and separated the fat drippings. I followed the recipe as stated and added rosemary as a finishing touch. Wonderful, must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I'm throwing this gravy over fried cubed steaks....mmmmm good! And I will for sure add sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I did not like this gravy. It had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had no fat drippings but I did use bouillon. It still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I am a gravy master thanks to Argo Corn Starch! I do add about a tablespoon of butter right before I serve this to add a rich velvety texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States