Easy German Bierocks (Runza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Try some sauerkraut in these. Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made these for the German Club last nite & absolutely delish. I squeezed some gulden's spicy mustard on top after cooking & mixed it in, gave it a little more zing! I used yeast frozen rolls & held it together w a tooth pick. The next time I would probably use crescent or one of the other refrig rolls. The rolls I used were too difficult to work with. Would def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made these using crescent roll dough and filled them with sauerkraut instead of cabbage...man were they delicious! This recipe made a ton of the little buggers, but as soon as I set them out on the table they were snatched up by my guests. Also, I baked them instead of frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I had a friend's German Biericks years ago and remember them being so good, I wanted to make them. I looked and found this recipe and tried it today. I only used 1/2 a head of cabbage, added garlic, and worchester. I also cooked the meat and cabbage mixture longer than 10 min. (more like 30!)to soften the cabbage. I used Rhodes frozen roles and used all of them and still had a lot ofmeat/cabbage mixture left over! Very good, but would have liked more meat mixture in the roles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My German mother made these all the time, including the dough from scratch, as I continue to do now. The simplest version is what we always had. It seems adding garlic and/or other spices/flavoring diminishes the simple original version. Keep it simple as this recipe has and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My family enjoyed these, but I found them a little bland despite the addition of extra pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I baked them and used crescent rolls because I couldn't find frozen dinner rolls. Maybe a ground sausage would be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Super convenient. My Girls Scouts loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this as a quick weeknight dinner using refrigerated biscuits (i.e. Grands) to make a nice-sized portion. I made a half-batch. I used a whole bag of prepackaged coleslaw mix, added some garlic salt and Worchestershire sauce as others have recommended, and it turned out great. I pressed out one biscuit to about a 6-inch circle, added a generous heap of filling, and placed another pressed-out biscuit on top. Sealed the edges and rolled them under to keep from bursting. Placed on a cookie sheet and baked according to the directions on the roll package, about 15 minutes. Total time from start to finish was about 35 minutes, perfect for those busy weeknights. This approach will use half the recipe, 16 biscuits (2 packages), making 8 portions about the size of a Kaiser roll. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
An authentic German gal made this for us and I was hooked. I just made Mexican Tamales and had some of the sauce left and added it to the meat mixture, simmered till it was moist, not soupy. I baked mine and they came out outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were good and held together well, but by strictly going by the recipe, they tasted a bit bland. I will make them again using another reviewer's suggestion of adding dry onion soup mix to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holloway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summertown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States