Easy German Bierocks (Runza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe but instead of using dinner rolls as stated, I used phyllo dough and baked them in the oven. Before placing in oven I brushed each with melted butter and baked them in 350 degree oven until golden brown. They were so delicious with the flaky pastry outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne L. Wendland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My mom made these for years, started making them back in the 1930's. The original German recipe calls for sauerkraut instead of cabbage but my dad didn't care for it. My mom used Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix for her bread. That's how I make mine now. Love these so much, reminds me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brenneman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
the best way to make this is to use zwieback dough its amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Try some sauerkraut in these. Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made these for the German Club last nite & absolutely delish. I squeezed some gulden's spicy mustard on top after cooking & mixed it in, gave it a little more zing! I used yeast frozen rolls & held it together w a tooth pick. The next time I would probably use crescent or one of the other refrig rolls. The rolls I used were too difficult to work with. Would def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made these using crescent roll dough and filled them with sauerkraut instead of cabbage...man were they delicious! This recipe made a ton of the little buggers, but as soon as I set them out on the table they were snatched up by my guests. Also, I baked them instead of frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I had a friend's German Biericks years ago and remember them being so good, I wanted to make them. I looked and found this recipe and tried it today. I only used 1/2 a head of cabbage, added garlic, and worchester. I also cooked the meat and cabbage mixture longer than 10 min. (more like 30!)to soften the cabbage. I used Rhodes frozen roles and used all of them and still had a lot ofmeat/cabbage mixture left over! Very good, but would have liked more meat mixture in the roles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My German mother made these all the time, including the dough from scratch, as I continue to do now. The simplest version is what we always had. It seems adding garlic and/or other spices/flavoring diminishes the simple original version. Keep it simple as this recipe has and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My family enjoyed these, but I found them a little bland despite the addition of extra pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I baked them and used crescent rolls because I couldn't find frozen dinner rolls. Maybe a ground sausage would be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Super convenient. My Girls Scouts loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States