Easy German Bierocks (Runza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I liked them a lot. I fried some and also baked some, I liked the baked ones better. They're good with mustard, maybe next time I'll add cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made these using crescent roll dough and filled them with sauerkraut instead of cabbage...man were they delicious! This recipe made a ton of the little buggers, but as soon as I set them out on the table they were snatched up by my guests. Also, I baked them instead of frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is how I grew up eating them, by being deep fried. I love them!! Heather, I thought my family were the only other people who deep fried them. Glad to see you do too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Easy and tasty! I made this even easier by using pre-cut cabbage packaged for coleslaw as well as bagged frozen onion because that is what I had on hand and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great idea to use refrigerated rolls. I usually use hot roll mix. I used whole wheat rolls and I baked rather than fried them. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My parents loved it! But, being my father's daughter, I played with the recipe a bit. Personally, used large Crossant rolls out of tubes since my family likes them better than regular rolls. I stretched the larger end of the triangles before scooping the mix in and carefully, but quickly wrapping them up and I baked them instead of fried 'em (using the amount of minutes on the tube at 350 degrees F). ^^v;; And instead of a head of cabbage, I used pre-shreaded coleslaw mix for a bit of color and the added carrots, I also chopped up some red pepper and added it in for color. I had to drain my browned meat (I used 90% lean ground beef), then added the oil and veggies so the liquid wouldn't soak the rolls too much later on. I tested a small-ish slice of Sharp Cheddar cheese in half of them, but with the thin slices I used, you can't tell the difference - so I'd leave it out next time since it's not neccessary, and probably more healthy. Truly, I am going to make these for work lunches once in a while, they're a lot better than plain old sandwitches or worse, canned/microwave food. Thanks for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanheltangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Yes, this is the way Gramma, and Mom used to make them, only baked. and with thawed frozen bread rolls, or make your own bread dough in bread machine. I have a miracle whip salad dressing mixed with sour cream and prepared horseradish for a good sauce. same as with prime rib......for a "bam" little kick of flavor.. they freeze well and reheat in oven or better yet microwave. once frozen use seal a meal or food saver roll and get the air out. they keep a long long time. but if you have anyone around, they don't last. great for quick company short notice meals or snacks. I would give it a 10 rating if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wanted an easy side for a german dish and these were great. I had to play around with it since I was making a much smaller batch,(I cook for two). I wish I would have used more cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and used cresent roll dough. Next time I will use the dough mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My German mother made these all the time, including the dough from scratch, as I continue to do now. The simplest version is what we always had. It seems adding garlic and/or other spices/flavoring diminishes the simple original version. Keep it simple as this recipe has and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made these for the German Club last nite & absolutely delish. I squeezed some gulden's spicy mustard on top after cooking & mixed it in, gave it a little more zing! I used yeast frozen rolls & held it together w a tooth pick. The next time I would probably use crescent or one of the other refrig rolls. The rolls I used were too difficult to work with. Would def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States