Easy Garlic-Lemon Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I cut WAY down on the butter and added a little olive oil, heated to very hot, added the garlic, then the scallops, and fried the scallops about 3 mins./side. They browned beautifully! Removed the scallops to a covered plate, added about 1/3 cup of white wine, reduced it, added lemon juice, pepper, and about a half tsp. of dried tarragon. Poured over the scallops and enjoyed! I know this all drastically changed the original recipe, but it's a five-star rating. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious. Except for using the butter, I used extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I live on Cape Cod so have sea scallops often. I've tried tons of recipes and yours is the best. I only made a couple of changes...I used half butter and half olive oil with crushed red pepper to brown the scallops...and added some white wine to the sauce after removing the scallops. Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
THIS IS A GOOD AND EASY SCALLOP RECIPE. I HAVE ALSO DRIZZLED WITH A BIT OF BALSAMIC VINEGAR PRIOR TO SERVING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is pretty close to perfection. It's one of those recipes where all the amounts of the ingredients are completely adjustable to taste. I wanted my sauce full of lemon and garlic, and so added more of those, and once I took out the scallops I added a dollop more butter. Rich, buttery, delicious and took just a few minutes. I served it over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This dish is amazing and oh so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
3/4 cups of butter is so much butter the scallops drown...not possible to turn them, and therefore they never brown. And way too much garlic. Think maybe scallops are better eaten in seafood restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very good. i think I used too much lemon (just eyeballed it), and I overcooked the scallops, but it was still very good. I also added some half and half and a bit of flour to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very good and so easy. I fixed this two days in a row Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was okay, but the butter could probably have been cut in half (and I like butter). I tried to make it exactly as written, but around here, I could only get what are probably medium-sized sea scallops (not like the huge ones I've gotten in restaurants). I served it on a bed of angel-hair pasta (as suggested by the recipe photo), and it lasted me for two big dinners. The taste was decent, but frankly, I was expecting something better - the generous amount of garlic was a bit drowned out by all the butter flavor, and I would've liked it better-balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States